El Blogathon Begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Troy
December 11th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Hajj to Central Europe

As you will see, my journey begins in Spain, then onto Amsterdam, then Brussels, finishing in the Fatherland (the home of mi Padre) of Paris, France.

Backpacking this past summerBackpacking this past summerBackpacking this past summer

hiking in Oregon was the last big adventure... on to a more foreign one

Blogging?



So, I have decided to start a blog. Yes I know, I'm drastically behind the times, but you gotta give me credit for trying to keep up with the Jones'.

The fact is, everyone blogs. Not having a blog for your travels is the equivalent of showing up to a rave without a glowstick; everyone is going to look at you like, "who let that loser in." I am therefore making my first ever attempt at a blog of any kind. With that being said, bite your lip, take a deep breath, and try and enjoy the ride friends and family...

Right now I'm sitting on my futon in Troy, New York. I have my Managerial Economics final in 36 hours - 30 of which I should be studying... ahhh. But how can i think about the marginal relationship of revenue to cost when i will be dragging my feet through the sand of southern Spain or trying to figure out why Dali chose a particular brushstroke.

.... I can't take it... I will be there soon.

Advertisement



15th December 2008

Itinerary
Ben, Hope you and your buddies have a great (and safe) trip. I have a friend who did a similar thing. He hopped a freighter for the trip over. Quite an experience as he tells it. Two comments: I traveled to Spain numerous times on business and found that the food is the best in the world in my opinion.....(Penny[wife] disagrees). Most of my time was spent up on the northern coast in a town called Santader. It is close to Bilboa(ugh!). Beautiful place.....very nice people.........wonderful food. Second comment: Watch your wallets and other valuables. As you probably already know, pickpocketing is a science in Europe. I had my wallet stolen in Paris and had no idea it was gone until I tried to pay a bill. $8000 was charged within 30 minutes. Most recommendations include putting your wallet in your front pocket, with your hand holding on to it. Good idea but not always practical. Again, Best wishes and stay out of foreign jails. Sincerely, George Bieberbach
21st December 2008

S'up Ben
Blogging, eh? I did similar trips to what you are planning: night trains across Spain and France, alleys of Barcelona, blue and white hotels in Tangiers, sweating customs in Gibralter, movie in Monmartre, sitting on the Spanish steps in Italy, trying to figure out why they are so crazy about Fondue in Lausanne, and more. I never had anybody rob me except my affections a few times, but a moneybelt is not a bad idea, or just carry a debit card in a safe place and minimum cash??

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb