Day 54 - Rochester, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rochester
November 4th 2011
Published: November 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

New York state. Not to be confused with New York City. I'll be headed there next week.

Today, with Mark, we were going to do a little bit of touring and photo shooting. Artistic photography, with an edge. From this I would learn something. I need to invest in a better camera than my simple point-and-shoot.

So firstly, we drove to Letchworth State Park. A beautiful park in New York state, considered the Grand Canyon of the North-East. This is where we saw quite a few waterfalls. A very photogenic area. We tried out some of our 'art' here.

The area was beautiful at this time of the year. I think I'm glad I came during fall. Or autumn. I'm developing a bit of an American vocabulary here. Bright yellow tree leaves were fallen everywhere. The waterfalls were magnificent - but I know it's got nothing on Niagara Falls; a place where we plan to go to tomorrow.

After our little visit to this park, we headed back towards Rochester. Mark's driving was a little bit crazy here; he seemed to love messing around in his Mustang. Too many people were in the passing lane, so he had to swerve, plus some idiot in a Dodge Neon with turbo and nitrous was trying to race us.

Anyway, Wegmans was supposedly one of the best grocery stores in the world. Apparently people come from all over the world to see it. It was pretty interesting to say the least. It was more like a mall of food. It had a buffet as well - we grabbed something to eat.

Later tonight we headed out to dinner with Mark's friends, Patrick and Jackie, both great people. We got along nicely; I shared my stories that they were curious to ask me about. We had barbeque ribs, quite popular throughout the states. I can definitely say I was stuffed. Still, glad to have met some more great people along the way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb