Days 99 to 109 - New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
October 20th 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Comic ConComic ConComic Con

"Holy Bat-sh*t Batman! It's Stan Lee!"
After leaving Washington, it was an overnight stop in Philadelphia before heading up to New York.

The main reason behind the return trip to New York was for New York Comic Con. Like the convention in San Diego, New York Comic Con caters to all things pop culture. Unlike San Diego, New York concentrates more on comics rather than the big movies and television shows. I was hoping to pick up a couple of sketches but most, if not all, were way out of my price range and budget. It was good to get an idea of cost so there’s always next time.

One of the best moments for me was on Day 1. While lining up to get into the main floor, comic great Stan Lee (creator of Spider-Man, the Incredible Hulk, X-Men etc.) decided that he’d walk through and greet some of the fans. All I heard was a scream (it wasn’t me) and as I turned around I saw the Great One walk towards me through the crowd.

Maybe it was the excitement of the occasion, then again it could have been the tuna and Ramen noodles from the previous meal, but I totally forgot
Comic ConComic ConComic Con

Me and some Star Wars fans. I think I might volunteer as a Wookie for the next comic convention in Perth.
about Stan’s age and was a little too firm with my shake. Thankfully I didn’t break any bones and Stan was able to attend to his convention duties.

I decided to stay on in New York instead of heading up to Boston or across to Chicago. I figured that after all these trips to the Big Apple I’ve only really experienced the Midtown and Chelsea districts and really needed to do some additional exploring around the other districts - the Upper West Side, Greenwich Village, the Lower East Side, NoHo, SoHo, and Tribeca.

More pics can be found in my Flickr album.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Comic ConComic Con
Comic Con

Me and ... well I have no clue who these guys were. They were friendly enough, Big Foot had a very authentic smell.
Comic ConComic Con
Comic Con

Me and one of the Green Hornet booth babes. I seem to have a habit of asking guys with the shakes to take my photo. I feel like Andre the Giant standing next to her.
Comic ConComic Con
Comic Con

Me at the Capcom booth. Was able to have a bash on a couple of the demos.
Comic ConComic Con
Comic Con

Getting noticed by the guys from Robot Chicken.
Comic ConComic Con
Comic Con

I've been on the road for too long!
Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

Jerry Springer filming a promo for an upcoming 20 year anniversary.
Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

Not entirely sure who this guy is, but then again I ain't exactly concentrating on him if you know what I mean /wink/
Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

Me using my height and reach to get a better shot ... maybe I have a calling as a Paparazzo.
Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

Same day as the Jerry Springer sighting. Spotted Johnny Knoxville (from Jackass) doing some promo work for the latest movie.
Greenwich VillageGreenwich Village
Greenwich Village

Cafe Wha? in Greenwich Village. A number of famous musicians and comedians, such as Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, Bruce Springsteen, The Velvet Underground, Kool and the Gang, Woody Allen, Bill Cosby and Richard Pryor started their careers at the Wha?
High Line ParkHigh Line Park
High Line Park

Stretching 2.33 kms, the park is built on a section of the former elevated freight railroad spur called the West Side Line. Running along the lower west side of Manhattan; it has been redesigned and planted as an aerial greenway.
Top of the RockTop of the Rock
Top of the Rock

The view of the Empire State Building from the "Top of the Rock" observation deck at Rockerfeller Center.


Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb