Big Cities - New York, Friday 2017 May 19


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
May 19th 2017
Published: December 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Manhattan Manhattan Manhattan

Thrilling look at the legendary island
(10:04 a.m.) I am sitting in Chicago airport, having navigated the walking of five blocks to the Clarke/Lake “L” station, taking the train to the airport, finding the check-in, clearing security in rapid time, and buying green tea at Starbucks, where I am using their plug-in to keep my laptop fully charged. The weather has turned from summer into cold, windy rain similar to when I arrived. Luck was with us for our tours!

I had to eat a sandwich for a late lunch (3:00) immediately on arrival at La Guardia’s Marine Terminal, a remarkably small facility. I gobbled quickly, but even so my suitcase was all by itself, set off to one side. Getting a cab at the rank was easy – moving forward was not. Our vehicle joined the clogged line to exit the airport (for which the driver didn’t charge me) in order to join the incredibly clogged roads. The cab zipped into any space minimally available. Seemingly by an unspoken code numerous near-fender-benders were avoided without comment or horns blaring. An hour passed before we crept onto the Triborough Bridge, where we moved along at speed, dipping in and out of exit lanes and through road
Three Dancing MaidensThree Dancing MaidensThree Dancing Maidens

Graceful fountain in Central Park
construction.

The driver was nice. He offered me an almond cookie so many times, I felt I had to take it – he pushed it through the payment hole in the Plexiglas shield. Later he insisted on giving me a mandarin orange – and then another. And he offered a Red Bull, but I managed to refuse it. We talked about foods and cultures; he was from Egypt and had lived in Paris and New York. He had visited Montréal and wanted my opinion on whether he should move there or to Toronto to open a small pizza restaurant. As we finally neared our destination, he asked what was the cross-street on Madison Avenue for Karen’s apartment. Thankfully, I took out the Google map I had made for other purposes and told him 93 Street. I had no idea this was needed information. When he let me off, he commented that next time I should say 94 Street because it was closer!

Karen’s apartment building is over a hundred years old; just completed renovations have given her a beautiful, ultra-modern bathroom. After settling in, we walked along Fifth Avenue and across to the Central Park Conservatory and the
NY skylineNY skylineNY skyline

A city so big it has multiple skylines.
Reservoir. What a beautiful retreat from the city traffic and noise – lots of grass, leafy bushes, formal flower beds, and a showy fountain, surrounded by walking paths. On the way back to the apartment we looked at buildings, Karen offering comments about history or fame.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

East RiverEast River
East River

Setting of innumerable stories
House Of The Redeemer 1916House Of The Redeemer 1916
House Of The Redeemer 1916

Originally a private residence, now a religious retreat
St Nicholas Russian Orthodox Cathedral 1902St Nicholas Russian Orthodox Cathedral 1902
St Nicholas Russian Orthodox Cathedral 1902

Russian detail in the hustle bustle of New York
NY Academy of Medecine 1926NY Academy of Medecine 1926
NY Academy of Medecine 1926

Bricks make the detail.
The Conservatory GardenThe Conservatory Garden
The Conservatory Garden

Foaming water feature
Cooper Hewitt Museum 1897Cooper Hewitt Museum 1897
Cooper Hewitt Museum 1897

Now the Smithsonian Design Museum
Otto Addie Khan Mansion 1918Otto Addie Khan Mansion 1918
Otto Addie Khan Mansion 1918

Once a recessed carriageway, now the entrance to a girls school.


9th December 2018

NY, NY
Interesting. I haven't been to Chicago, but I have been to NY - just once, so far. I'l be interested to see the same (albeit huge) city through your eyes.
12th December 2018

NY, NY
NY city is much bigger than my trip, which was more of a microcosm seen through Karen's eyes.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb