On our way...


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We're sitting in the Sky Club at JFK Airport waiting to board our flight to Athens. In order to make only one connecting flight from San Antonio, we ended up with a pretty long layover here - better than having a short layover and missing the flight or making the flight without our luggage.

No matter how much advance planning I do to in order to make the night of packing go quickly, I always end up getting less sleep than I wanted/needed. Packing for a trip in the US is a piece of cake - if you forget something, there's always a pharmacy or department store near by. Packing for a long trip outside the US involves bringing some of the "routine" OTC drugs just in case you need them and making sure that you really do bring all of the clothing you need. I think we have it all, but if we don't it's just too bad!

I just talked with Gaga and she sounds good. They put her through some aggressive physical and occupational therapy this morning so she was pretty tired. She's being very cooperative because she wants to go home strong and safe as quickly as possible. It's hard leaving the country knowing she's still in the hospital, but I know she's in great hands and will be much better off when she goes home next Tuesday. I'm really grateful to Carol and Doug for being there for her while I'm traveling!

I'm also grateful for the wonderful folks on my team at KCI. The only way I can be on vacation for 16 days is to have smart, capable and committed folks working back in San Antonio. Jason, Ronnie, Prinny, Liz, Rose, Rick and Lissette: you guys rock and it's a privilege to work with you!

Well. enough idle rambling. Our next post will come from Athens with pictures. (I didn't think a photo of Bowen having a beer in the Sky Club would be that interesting to you!)

Have a great Thursday!

Advertisement



11th May 2012

Excited!!
I can not begin to tell you how excited I am for you! We will have a loooonnnnggggg lunch when I return! Will you still be going to Egypt? I hope so...seeing the Pyramids is such an incredible experience! Will be praying every step of the way!
11th May 2012

Call????
Young lady, you were supposed to call me before you left JFK airport. Big trouble... BIG! lol Can't wait to see pictures of Rome! Love Love :-)

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb