Parisian Adventure - 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
September 19th 2016
Published: September 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour,



All was off to to great start. The plane was not full, I had a row to myself and we departed on time. LIfe is good. About an hour into the flight when I was stretched out on my own narrow bed the captain announced that. THE COMPUTERS HAD FAILED AND WE WERE HEADING BACK TO JFK. There went my dream of a good nights sleep. Since we were still heavy with fuel, the entire emergency brigade met us on the ground. I had visions of jumping on a slide and crashing to the ground. Thankfully, none of that happened.



We taxied to a gate and waited, deplaned and waited for new equipment to arrive. To keep us happy American provided chips, popcorn, cookies, water, soda and tangerines. The tangerine was good. Eventually they announced that the flight was cancelled. Now it was time to line up for rebooking.



An hour later, long after 2/3 of the rebooking staff had left for the day I decided to contact American direct. I was rebooked on a direct flight leaving at 5:20 pm. When I got to the agent she was able to issue my boarding pass, my hotel, meals and taxis vouchers quickly and I finally arrived at the Holiday Inn at 1:11.



Human nature being what it is, the gate agent had deal with a man who couldn't be pleased. He could get a morning flight to Heathrow and connect to Paris. Not good. He would not go to England. His next option was the 5:20 flight. What was he suppose to do all day he asked. I could have told him. After berating the gate agent and establishing that he was a A--H--- we went on his way.



It seemed I had just gotten to sleep (actually it was 5:11) when my cell phone woke me up. It was Linda waiting for me a Starbucks outside security. I explained my plight and updated arrival plans.



To end this exhausting tale, Linda took a cab to the apartment, car service rescheduled a pick up for me tomorrow morning and I fell back to sleep until 9:11. Anyone else find the 11 spooky?



So I will relax and read and nap until I have to check out. The front desk was lovely to extend my checkout time and so my Parisian adventure begins.



Au revoir

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0983s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1005.8kb