Getting to India - JFK to Dubai


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
February 1st 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Stairyway to HeavenStairyway to HeavenStairyway to Heaven

Stairs on Airbus 380 to first-class deck
Frantic last day of packing and making sure we have everything to teach our quilting classes. Made our way via bus, subway and train to JFK airport in plenty of time. When we got on the Emirates Airlines flight we realized we were on a brand new Airbus 380; a double decker plane larger than a Boeing 947.

When we got to our seats an elderly Indian man, South Indian we learned, was already in the window seat. Marie started to sit in the Middle seat, but the man became upset and pointed franticly to me to sit there. After several odd moments we realized he did not want to sit next to a woman so I squeezed in next to our rather bulbous travel companion and began fiddling with the contents of the seat pocket in front of me ... magazines, earphones, travel bag with earplugs and sleepmask, and even a toothbrush.

Next I discovered the entertainment system built into the seatback. I had a touch-screen interface with access to more than 200 movies, bunches of games, and audio section, and live newsfeeds. you could also track the flights progress with a map or either of 3 cameras; front, belly, or tail mounted. Finally, for a hefty fee you could connect to the internet or make phone calls.

The next twelve hours with our seatmate proved a bit grueling. Despite the fact that the Emirates configuration of the plane provided a bit more room than other overseas flights, things were still quite squeezed. It turns out that my new friend, I'll call him Mr. I (for insistent Indian) snored loudly and thrashed around when he slept. I also had to act as interface with the attendants, help him fill out his India entry form, complete his Emirates on-screen satisfaction form, etc.

When our first meal was served Mr. I discovered much to his horror that the Indian meal he had ordered included meat. For the next thirty minutes he tried handing it back to any attendant that got anywhere near us but they couldn't take it until they had a collection cart to puit it on. And so, throughout the flight it went on. I longingly wondered how much one must pay for the first-class sleeping cabins above, replete with full sized beds and mini bar. Ahh ... the life of the upper crust.

Advertisement



7th February 2012

I got to see the pictures :)
I went to the library in Centerville and Lindsey helped me log on to your blog so I got to see your latest pictures. She will let me know when you post again so that I can come to the library to take a look. Looking forward to hearing and seeing more, Marjorie
11th February 2012

Hi from Bill
Hi Marj Glad you were able to connect at the library. We have been really busy so haven't had time to write. I will be adding some postings to my blog today. Love - Bill

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb