I love New York!!!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 9th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone

just wanted to let you know that I am having a fantastic time here in New York city. I spent my first couple of days shopping and Danielle joined me a week ago. We went out and didn't have to pay for a drink all night!!! these accents work really well over here if you know what I mean...and people are really generous. I have met heaps of great people and we are having a ball.

I haven't had my photos downloaded to a disc yet so will post them later.

So far we have seen the Empire State building, The Museum of Modern Art, have seen a broadway show RENT which was fabulous, have done the cruise around the statue of Liberty at night and saw the Manhattan skyline which is just beautiful. Live comedy, been out for dinner a few times, been to ground zero which was quite emotional for me and have done heaps of shopping!

We went to a west indian carnival in Brooklyn where the population of Melbourne was partying in the streets, floats and authentic west indian cuisine, great music and plenty of eye candy. I bought a Jamaican bandana and a St Kits bandana and pretended that I was Jamaican for a day....it was so much fun. Still need to learn how to move my bum like an african american girl though...I am working on that.

Danielle and I also visited the Hamptons this week and went to see an Australian Punk band last night...not my scene though and they were all in their 50's!! and looking a bit old and crusty...way to much hard core head banging in the crowd.

We ventured into splash which is a gay night club...fun night and I was severly hungover the next day and didn't get up till 5pm!

All in all this city and the people here are fabulous and let me just say that the african american men are hot hot hot!

will update my photos in a few days time to give you a better look at this beautiful town. Am spending way too much money but hey you can't take it with you can ya!!

love to you all.

Sim xxx

Advertisement



11th September 2006

Hey Evon
Yes I can certainly say that people over hear were shocked at the Steve Irwin news and everyone has been talking to us about it. I guess its probably the way he would have liked to go though if he had a choice. Tomorrow is the anniversary for Sept 11 so we are going to a memorial service there was a great documentry on TV tonight. I am sure that tomorrow will be a big day here. Take care and great to hear all is well with you. PS tell Helen that I have taken a few snaps of some of Monet's and Van Gogh's paintings for her which I will post on the blog as soon as I get them downloaded to CD. love Sim
11th September 2006

NY
thanks Simon I am looking forward to seeing the photo's of Monet and Van Gough. I am glad you are having a great time but am a little jealous I keep thinking I should be in NY with them. I hope you had a great birthday. Am now going to the commissioner about my case the Union think I am correct. Also the GM from South Africa interviewed me( I know him as a friendworked together for 15 yrs). He agreed with me said he work tell the Director of Australia to pay me out He had to do a report to why we are losing money he was shocked when I told him my news........Anyway have fun fun fun! Take care Helen

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb