NYC - Girls Weekend! Night 2, Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 27th 2014
Published: May 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After Lizzie and Can returned from shopping, we got ready for my cousins from South Jersey to join us. I was unable to make a trip down to see some of my favorite family members, so a couple of them (Cuppie, Paula and her friend Karen) decided to come see me for a night. I checked them into their room and we waited for their arrival. Paula booked us a table at a nearby Mediterranean restaurant at 10pm and Lizzie "Liz-i-fied" me (fixed my hair and put on makeup). Then we headed down for some cold mezzah (I ordered) and wine (I ordered). Yep, we started to get silly and headed to an Irish Pub nearby where the silliness continued. I have not done shots in years, but somehow my lil cousin Cuppie knows just the ticket - they were really good and free I think! I guess the guys in the bar thought we were entertaining... Then we headed to the next spot, but by then I was done. So Paula and Karen walked me back to the hotel where I was OUT; they returned and all partied til 3am. I'm old...

We all slept in again (yay!) and were out on the town a little before noon. We headed via subway, down to Battery Park. Paula led the way since she's been visiting this city since she was a teenager. At Battery Park, we were able to see the Statue of Liberty from afar, but decided not to take the boat to see it - too crowded for one thing. Then we walked up the street into the city, stopping to get lunch at a giant "variety" venue, where you could pick what foods you wanted from a variety of places - I got a sandwich that was pretty lame.

We found the line for the 9/11 Memorial, which I really wanted to see. It was so cool to see the new World Trade Center building which looks almost done. You could also see the construction or the voids of the other buildings of the world trade center - there was one place where it was obvious a building used to be - so many people forget it was not just the two towers that were destroyed. We didn't have passes, which gives you a time to arrive and you get to skip the big waiting line, which I do recommend. But man, the line was not very straightforward - we ultimately ended up waiting in basically 7 lines (they would allow people through in groups and after the first 3 lines, you couldn't see the people ahead of you, so you keep thinking you're about to go inside!). It is free, but they recommend a donation of at least $5 - gladly given. You go through a huge security checkpoint, set up like the US airports, and finally, finally you're allowed into the park.

I will say that when it is finally done (which will be soon), it will be incredible. The pools are the best memorial they could possibly have done - it is so eerie to see the open footprints of the towers with the names of the thousands of innocent people who were murdered during their daily lives. The park is nice and big, and you're in the shadow of the new World Trade Center - yes, coming here, you "will never forget". The museum is going to be below ground; I could see the entrance to the place and it looks pretty nice. While the park and pools are free, though, it seems the museum may cost up to $25 for entrance - yikes!!!

I'm very glad I got to see this; I came to NYC soon after the attacks and stayed away from this area, though you could see the hole in the skyline where the two buildings belonged. However, it was a very long wait to spend just a little bit of time at this magnificent memorial.

AFter this, we walked east to the green line subway station and then got off in Little Italy (Spring St station). What a very charming little neighborhood! We checked out various restaurants and ultimately settled on The Food Center. It was decent food, our waiter was probably only on Day Two, but maybe next time we'll go for something smaller and more authentic. Can and I plan to return one day, sit on a patio with a glass of wine and enjoy this lovely location and food.

Then we tried for about 20minutes to hail two taxis, which took us back to the hotel, where I said goodbye to my sweet cousins. I'm so glad they made the trek up to see me, even if it was only for 24 hours!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb