New York New York Im back again!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 13th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

RiverLandscape 1690RiverLandscape 1690RiverLandscape 1690

Aert van der Neer
The next day I was off to New York. Alyson dropped me off to the airport and it was a nice good bye.

The plane was a bit delayed and I didn’t have any credit to let Jilly know. Luckily some dude on my bus from NYC let me use his mobile and I called her to let her know I was on my way. I met her at a bar in Grand Central station and we proceeded to catch a bus a couple of blocks away from Jilly’s house to do some more sight seeing around New York.

We then headed back to Jill’s I dropped my stuff off and then we headed to Central Park. Central Park was really nice - quite big and full of people and boats along the canals. I found some rocks to climb on in the park - which I proceeded to do in steed like fashion.

We visited Strawberry Fields in the Park and imagined all the people living life in peace...

And then we visited the cupcake shop to have a look at their wares but at this time I really felt like cherry tomatoes - yum - so I brought them from a street peddler outside. We headed back to the park and were intersected by some boys studying law who asked us to join them in a comedy night randeauvo. We joined them - it was in the open air theatre in Central Park. But we found out that the show had already closed it is doors to people coming in. The guys felt like jumping the fence. We didn’t so much - so we let them and sat in the park. Someone was playing Rufus Wainwright's song
">Hallelujah and I asked Jill if we could sit down and listen which we proceeded to do so.

Then Jill took me to her favorite New York Pizzeria and let me say it was damn good Pizza. Thanks again Jill! So fresh and the vegetables on it were really crunchy and tasty. We got two slices and even got to enjoy some for breakfast the next day.

The next day we visited the MET(Metropolitan Museum of Art) and spent most of the morning there exploring the renaissance times, the Egyptian times and the modern Picasso/Van Gogh times. I even got lucky to meet up with Ahmed - who I
More New YorkMore New YorkMore New York
was travelling with for a few days in Beijing last year. Me and Jill gave Ahmed and his fiancé our tickets to get into the MET since we were finished and I needed to get to the train station and get my train to Hartford Connecticut.
As we were running late we got a taxi to the train station - which wasn’t too bad. It was over as quickly as our re-uniting began with Jill😞 But I knew it would be see you soon, rather than good bye as the train pulled away from the platform and I was on my way to Ryan’s.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

More New YorkMore New York
More New York
More New YorkMore New York
More New York
Cherry TimeCherry Time
Cherry Time
Enjoying central parkEnjoying central park
Enjoying central park
Me in Central ParkMe in Central Park
Me in Central Park
Jill enjoys her hot DogJill enjoys her hot Dog
Jill enjoys her hot Dog
John Lenon and the Strawberry FieldsJohn Lenon and the Strawberry Fields
John Lenon and the Strawberry Fields
I imagine...I imagine...
I imagine...
Jill shows me some of the best New York PizzaJill shows me some of the best New York Pizza
Jill shows me some of the best New York Pizza
New YorkNew York
New York
Metropolitain Museum of ArtMetropolitain Museum of Art
Metropolitain Museum of Art
Peter Paul RubensPeter Paul Rubens
Peter Paul Rubens

Venus and Adonis
Johannes VermeerJohannes Vermeer
Johannes Vermeer

Young Woman with a Water Pitcher
The Massacre of InnocentsThe Massacre of Innocents
The Massacre of Innocents

Francios Joseph Navez
Van GoghVan Gogh
Van Gogh

Woman Rocking a Cradle
SunflowersSunflowers
Sunflowers

Van Gogh
Large InteriorLarge Interior
Large Interior

David Hockney 1988
Me in the metro - hot damnMe in the metro - hot damn
Me in the metro - hot damn


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb