Hanging out on the High Line


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 4th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was immediately curious when my friend Ariela wanted to take me to a new Manhattan park she described as cool and trendy. I had never heard of the High Line Park before and it actually opened only a few weeks earlier. I was immediately envious of people who worked in the Chelsea area who were able to take advantage of the food shops and bakeries at Chelsea Market and enjoy their lunches outside at this park. The park even had lounge chaises that were movable on the railroad tracks!

Brooklyn and Manhattan were the perfect places to finish off my travels. As much as I loved the adventures of China, I just craved a comfortable bed to sleep on (the boxspring like mattresses just don't count!) and the variety of food was endless! I spent my days roaming around the East Village, Brooklyn and Soho and it was perhaps the first time that shopping was only a time waster in between eating. A highlight was S'mac in East Village - an entire restaurant devoted to mac n' cheese. Served in a hot skillet it was stomach-ache waiting to happen but well worth it!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



5th July 2009

Welcome back!
Glad to hear of all your travels. Hopefully we can catch up soon.

Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 30; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb