Getting the ball rolling..... (Dave)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Some of you might have heard by now and here is where you'll hear the official word.

I, David B. Cannan, International citizen (but soon to be US Temporary Resident) have finally scored myself a job.
A proper job that is, that allows me to stay longer that the 3-Month Visa Waiver that currently occupies my passport. It is with The Mount Sinai (pronounced Sigh-Nigh) School of Medicine in the Otolaryngology department.
The position involves working in a number of different labs researching a variety of different projects.
One of the main focus' is on Cancer Dormancy and trying to understand the genetic implication of why some cancers lie dormant for years, even decades and then suddenly switch back on. I'll be working in Pathology to start off with but then I'll be a kind of a go-to-guy, linking labs and showing people new skills.

For more info go to -
http://www.mountsinai.org/Education/School%20of%20Medicine/Departments%20and%20Divisions/Otolaryngology/About%20Us

I only heard the good news last week and since then I have been preparing myself for my next overseas trip.
The conditions that come with the Visa I am applying for are:
* I need a degree that is related to the job (check)
*
The Griswald MobileThe Griswald MobileThe Griswald Mobile

Note: This is NOT our car ... we stalked an old guy till he left the vicinity of his Griswald car just to get a photo for the sake of humor.
I need to leave the US and apply at a US Consulate abroad where I need proof of my job offer, education and number of other documents related to my application.

Mexico is looking the goods at the moment simply because there is no one there thanks to the whole H1N1 thing!

Other than that, just working away at both pubs and loving life.

By the way, for those that Skype, feel free to look me up (piggypergy or David Cannan, New York, NY)





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Tom's RestaurantTom's Restaurant
Tom's Restaurant

Otherwise known as Monk's Cafe from Seinfeld.
Lucky what?Lucky what?
Lucky what?

For Danielle....
Belvedere CastleBelvedere Castle
Belvedere Castle

in Central Park


19th May 2009

congrats dave!! great job!! NY seems to agree with you, you look great!! xkirsty say hey to the woman for me!
19th May 2009

well done dave congrats. p.s i like your new car. wood finish, very natural.
20th May 2009

Griswald Car
How cool are the American cars... cant understand why they are all going Bankrupt...
27th May 2009

Congratulations!
Dave, Congratulations on the job. Hope it all works out for you!

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb