New York, New York!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 8th 2007
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all, here's what I've been up to in the last few jam-packed days...

Said a teary farewell to mum at Heathrow and got on a plane...I don't know what it is about me, but air steward/esses must love me or something cos I got a free upgrade again!! I had originally booked my own seat in the emergency exit aisle to get a bit more leg room and was quite happy there, but the steward said he would move me to "Premium Economy" to move me away from the family with small babies next to me. Ok! Not quite the waited-on-hand-and-foot that I was used to in Business class on the way back from Honduras, but I got a nicer comfier seat, so result!

Got to JFK airport and got on the AirTrain to the subway, then the subway to the hostel. I didn't know how far up Amsterdam Avenue my hostel was so got off at the bottom and thought I would just walk up til I got there...er big mistake! It was MILES away! So got back on the subway and got off a bit nearer!! Anyway, eventually got to the hostel, knackered (mum my bag is too heavy!). I'm in a 10 bed dorm, on the top bunkbed. Really nice hostel, nice bathrooms, massive TV screen, common rooms blah blah blah. Went to bed early.

Got up yesterday morning, had brekkie and then went for a walk around Central Park, which is a couple of blocks away from the hostel. Lovely! My guidebook says it's impossible to get lost in CP, but, um, it lied. I wandered around for ages and ages, but nevertheless it was really nice. PS it's really hot here! 85 degrees yesterday and about the same again today!

In the afternoon I went into the city proper and strolled (read: hiked) down Fifth Avenue (it's miles long!). Saw all the big posh shops and stepped into some of them to benefit from the air conditioning!

In the evening, I went out on a trip organised by the hostel to go to a "Riverside Party" which was reeeeally cool. We had a drink at a gorgeous outdoor bar which was kind of underneath the freeway, but it was better than I have made it sound! Then we went to Pier 1 where there was a free outdoor party (read: rave) with DJ's playing kinda hip-hop-world-music-fusion-music. Or that's how I would describe it anyway. I thought of Liv, I reckon you would have loved it! Had a few bevvies and a boogie then hit the hay.

Today I have mostly been wandering around the Times Square area of Midtown and now I am writing to you from the New York Public Library! I had to join the library to use the internet and they took my picture for the card and my eyes are half shut - attractive! Oh well, it's free. Ummmm not sure what I'm doing tonight but tomorrow I'm going on another trip with the hostel to Harlem to go to a gospel church service!

Having a great time, wish you were all here!

Lisa xxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb