The entry you have all been waiting for... New York


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, finally, I am back in London and have a bit of time to up date you on the wonders of New York and the last almost four weeks of travel.

Well, I arrived safely, as you know if you have been keeping up with your reading, and I was collected at the airport and whisked off to Manhattan. Carter, who I met while he was visiting Perth last year, had sorted out all my accomodation needs after we had spent some time hunting through Craigslist from opposite sides of the world for somewhere to stay. Seriously, as Bee can attest, thie site was a serious distraction until I finally figured out what the hell I was trying to read. Anyway, turns out we were staying in the Lower East Side, which is in the south part of Manhattan, right near Chinatown and Little Italy. If any of you have seen PS I Love You (which i watched on the flight back to London, talk about emotional rollercoaster) the street they live on, Orchard and Broome is where I was, my exact street! Totally f'n cool. After a well earned shower - how does sitting on a plane make you so stinky? - and a good nights sleep, the NY adventure began ...

Now lucky for me, not only was I semi-staying with an American who could translate and explain the cultural foibles for me, I actually have a super dooper friend in New York, in Brooklyn to be precise, and I spent many a day pottering around in Bay Ridge, just hanging out, drinking too much coffee and talking shite. Not only that, but I got to play Connect Four with little Alyssa, learn about 'Drake and Josh', and get to give goodnight kisses and cuddles. She is sooooo cute...and she knows it!

So hanging out with Michaela was a massive highlight of the trip to New York. I got to have chill out time and hang with my girl, AND, I had my own personal Aussie tours of the city and Brooklyn, walking for miles, being talked into mojitos at lunch and generally noticing all the crazy people in New York. Really, there are some freaky people out there, worse than us. We saw a 'sword' wielding 'busker', who after at least 45 minutes preparation, decided to videotape himself raving about swords and oranges in Washington Square Park - that 1 orange really isn't going to feed everyone in the park dude. We saw a totally normal appearing man squealling and humming along to his ipod before pulling out a hygenically wrapped twig, unwrapping it and then proceeding to chew on it. We saw crazy wedding books, self help garbage, I learnt how Jewish men keep on their very little hats, as well as tasting various American beers and some tasty, tasty onion rings. We even rode a ride on kangaroo (it was a kid's ride people but I want to know what a ride on kangaroo is doing in Brooklyn) and were waltzed (and I mean waltzed) around the dancefloor in a club. But the highlight had to be just being. You know, normal, everyday doings are really underrated and just being with your friends, not necessarily doing, is the best. And that's what I had. And, I'm not going to write anymore about it because I don't have to, she knows...

#1 - Random thing I learnt in New York - I can hula hoop - who knew? Just walking down Orchard St, after an entertaining evening watching the Yankees kick Boston's ass (yup, I was watching baseball again ,and lurving it), an invitation to see if I could was simply too good an opportunity to miss, so I gave it a bash. To everyone's suprise, I worked that hoop, only problem is, there aren't any pics so you will have to believe me or harrass Michaela to verify my story!

Hmmn, what else...I'm sure there is more, I was there for a while and New York isn't exactly a small place....hmmn, yes, museums!

Now, if you are ever in New York, which I recommend because I love it...don't know if I could live it, but that can be another blog, here is a run down of the museums I visited and my opinions/thoughts etc -




* Metropolitan Museum of Art- Totally great. I loved it. Wandered in at about 11am and didn't leave for about 4 hours. This was on one of the first days I was there and while still cold, the sun was out, the birds were singing and the light streaming into the museum just made parts light the Temple of D**** (I'll some back for with the name) was beautiful. The temple was actually given to the Museam by the Egyptians, instead of being stolen/taken as per normal, and has been restored and laid out exactly how it was, although it wasn't in a funky cool hall with a view of Central Park before.
The Met also houses a large collection of Degas work, which I have fallen in love with, especially the woman bathing series. I am astounded at how one artist can work in so many different mediums, drawing, painting, sculpting and so on. I also saw works by Monet, Picasso, Van Gogh, Rodin and lots more amazing works that make you realise that there is more to life than work and the pursuit of art and creativity is so important to the human experience, both to the individual creating and those sharing the fruits of this labour.
There is also a medieval exhibit at the Met which is essentially a massive armoury that chronologically takes you through the equipment of warriors throughout various parts of the world, including Europe, Japan and Tibet - yup, Tibetians once were warriors, and it looks like they might be again from the looks of the news.
Without gushing on about the museum and spoiling all the suprises that you will discover for yourself, definitely put it on the list of places to visit.


* Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) - Ok, so as a art novice, seriously, I know almost nothing and couldn't even begin to figure out how to handle a paintbrush, I decided to go here and see what was happening in the more contemporary world of art. Admittedly this visit was towards the end of my stay in NY so it is possible that I was just already exposed to lots of art and art that I could understand, but I have to say this wasn't a favourite, although I did find some pieces pretty awesome. I really liked the Airstream Caravan (heheh) and the Sculpture garden, as well as seeing another large Monet and more of Picasso's work. I think, overall though, I have no understanding of more modern styles of work -I could draw a blue line on a white canvas - so not understanding it made some pieces hard to appreciate. that and the fact I don't think that a video of a naked woman using a piece of barbed wire as a hula hoop on the beach is art. But that's just me.
I did, however, like the view of the street from the MOMA, especially as it gives you an idea of how varied the city is, especially in terms of height, it isn't all just skyscrapers. Actually, the area near the MOMA reminded me a lot of the Perth CBD, I think the buildings were of a similar age and on a Saturday, deserted.


*Rubin's Museum of Art - Well after a couple of attempts to visit this museum, I made it in, making a trip back to Chelsea (and the markets, yum!). This is a museum of mainly Himalyan art which was absolutely beautiful. Perhaps my enthusiasm was simply because it was so different to the works I had seen at other museums, but I don't think so. This work is so intricate and made me want to jump on a plane to visit Nepal and Tibet! I wasn't a huge fan of the archat's, which are Chinese influence paintings. But, if you are in Chelsea and are across the road visiting the Homeworks shop - very cool thrift shop, 2 skirts for $15! - cross over and head into the Rubin Museum, but note, it isn't open Tuesdays!


*Tenement Museum - This was on our street so it would have been pretty silly not to go, so on a beautiful Saturday, after not killing anyone in the local coffee shop, Carter and I wandered the 100 metres or so down the street. Now the Tenement Museum is kind of different as it is a building that was basically untouched for about 50 years because of changes to housing laws. The landlord couldn't afford the changes so the apartments remained empty for years, with only the shop fronts remaining occupied, and therefore keeping the building preserved. Our tour took us through 2 recreated apartments, one from the 1900's and then the 1930's ( i think!) and told the story of what it would have been like to live under those conditions during that time, as well as what it would have been like for immigrants living/moving to New York at those times. This was pretty cool and they run a whole variety of different tours so you can learn allsorts.


#2 - Random thing I learnt in New York - For all of you that
Degas again... Degas again... Degas again...

yeh, you get two, but i took heaps!
live in Perth, and have ever visited Fremantle, what are the two streets called either side of Norfolk St in Fremantle? Essex and Suffolk streets, right? Yeah, well, imagine my suprise when I was walking down the road and found myself at an intersection, on the corner of Norfolk, walking towards Essex Street, with Suffolk Street the cross road at the intersection behind me.

Now, I'm sure from the other blog entries you can tell I'm not a huge fan of the cold, althought summer is also questionable too. So, imagine how delighted I have been to frolic around the city, sometimes in nothing more than a singlet and linen pants - not a scarf in sight! I have to say, I was quite amused to note that I do indeed, still have a neck! And imagine my suprise to find out you can actually get sunburnt at about 25 degrees! Yep, not once, but twice. Very naughty.

So all the lovely weather inevitable takes everyone to the park and this is a city with a couple of nice parks, you know Central Park, that kind of thing. So I had to join them. A couple of hours,
Tree Tree Tree

Don't let it escape! Noooooo!
catching some rays, reading my book, having some lunch, that kind of thing. Watching the hot bodies run around after frisbees (where do they get them from - the frisbees?). The kind of hanging out that you can only dream of when you are stuck at work on a spring day. Or in the library when the surf is good! And the warmer weather brings out the entrepreneurial folk who wander around selling water and coronas! Love it. Only things was, I felt decidedly under dressed, with guys and girls stripping off to next to nothing, in some cases doning the bikini and blatently sunning themselves, despite the fact that in some parts of town, people are still walking around in jumpers!

One of the main differences you notice about people enjoying the warm weather here and Australia is that when people go to the park in Australia, it is normally to do something, picnic, play cricket, bbq, footy, stuff like that. Here it is almost a desperate need to be immersed in nature and the sunshine, getting as much vitamin D as possible, baring as much flesh as is legal. So, one Saturday afternoon I found myself clambering over a fence in Tompkins Square Park (once the scene of massive riots etc) in order to get to the grass, to picnic in the sun and chat. Can't believe a lawyer would advise such course of action, is it illegal to jump the fence to sit on the grass? Not sure!?!

What else did I get up to? Took in an Off Broadway show, The Conversation, which was an adaptation of the Francis Ford Coppola film. Was really good, although sitting in the front row while they started to take off their clothes was a little confronting - total nudity, that close, wondering what is going to happen next and thinking that the two of them just looked a damn sight better with their clothes on! Added impact to the storyline but hmmn, at least where some attractive underwear dudes! And take off your damn socks dude! How many times do you need to be told? Not hot! At least he wasn't wearing y-fronts!

#3 - Random thing I learnt in New York - For all the hussle and bussle of such a busy city, it really can be quiet romantic. I mean, there are plenty of potential canoodling and even mauling spots, but just strolling arm in arm, searching for the right restaurant can be the most romantic, enjoyable past time in the world. Just thought I'd mention it.

On the subject of food, this is one city where you never need go hungry. Take the globe and basically think of every nationality and cuisine possible and you can find it here. I ate Italian, Malaysian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Mexican, Cuban, American...you name it! I even had doughnuts (never again tho Eric!), pretzels, onion rings and rice krispy snacks the size of my fist, cracker jack (mmn, and lower in calories than you would think), fake meat (no more Carter - unless it is msg free ok?), drank coconut juice, aloe vera (although I think if you have to chew the aloe then it doesn't count as drinking), lots of coffee - mmn, latte with soy thanks - and several cups of tea, just a couple! I tried verious American beers and ciders, even wine from New York. All in all, I think I managed to learn about New York just by wandering around looking for food! I even had an interesting Bamboo Noodles dish one evening... 😊

I have to say, in terms of places to eat, you definitely have to go to the Empire Diner in Chelsea, Soy in the Lower East Side (Suffolk St, corner of Delancy I think), the vegan place at the lower end of Mott st (mmn, vegan cheesecake!), oh and go to Rosas Mexicanos up on the upper west side. I was luck enough to visit Rosa's with Mr John Hyde! Yup, Skip and I caught up for lunch before I left the city, just a short lunch of about 5 hours! Plenty of work news to catch up on and heaps of goss! I have to say Skip was positively glowing (can guys do that?) and you shoudl see his face light up when he talks about Robyn! It is so awesome.

So before I end up talking about food all day, I am going to end this installment of the NY adventures for the time being... but there is more to come, and more pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Wrong in the city...Wrong in the city...
Wrong in the city...

trust me this was worse in person...
Oh no...Oh no...
Oh no...

I almost forgot the mojitos!


5th May 2008

clarification and needed comments
1. the mojitos were far, far too small, but divine; 2. the kangaroo ride was at 4am; we were boozed, and our faces show accordingly; 3. you forgot ethiopian food. and no, it's not food from UNICEF; 4. icarly; 5. everyone is coming to margaret river to go surfing. it's going to be a brooklyn outing, spurred on by you, and your cultural exuberance' 6. you made me cry. again. come back. enough with London. connect four is still waiting for you. she'll even let you win.
6th May 2008

Move over Zagat!
My God you know how to travel! I'm gonna have a hard time remmebereing all tehse recommendations, but it sounds like you are an expert now! Well done! Glad you are having such a brill time!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb