Florida New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Middletown
September 24th 2014
Published: September 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning we drove from Plymouth MA to Florida, New York. It is about 60 miles northwest of New York City. It is near the town of Middletown. It took us about 6 hours to drive here today. In my blog last night, I mentioned that I was afraid that the internet would be cut off. It did as soon as I finished the last blog. I remembered a few other things that I forgot to mention about The Breakers. The Breakers mansion was given its name for the waves that continually crash into the cliffs below. The Breakers was built in two years at a cost of over 7 million dollars, which would equal over $150 million today. The Breakers was the summer home of Cornelius Vanderbilt. He was the President & Chairman of the New York Central Railroad. This was interesting to me because I remember all the trains coming into our hometown of Mt. Carmel, Illinois. I believe that the New York Central was one of these trains. Cornelius Vanderbilt was the grandson of Commodore Cornelius Vanderbilt. The Commodore made the family fortune in the steamship and railroad industries. Since we have been on this trip, we all have had minor problems with our coaches...water heaters, microwaves, slides, water leaks, computer problems and steps that won't work. Jim's redneck step has made a move to another coach. On the drive down this morning, I noticed that a few of the trees had changed color. I am attaching a picture of a tree that is right across from our coach in the RV park.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb