On the train....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Hudson Valley » Hudson
April 23rd 2014
Published: April 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

And so it begins. It is still dark, actually it is also a little chilly tonight but luckily I am already in the warm cabin of the five o'clock train to New York City. I am so grateful to Matthias who dropped me off to the train station. It was hard to say goodbye to Dr. Bose and Dr. Higgs. I am missing them already but I am lucky that I have friends such as Matze, Janneane, Liz and Nick who are a big reason why this trip is even possible.

I am in the so called 'quite cabin'. First time that I have heard about this. Perhaps, due to the fact that I have never travelled this early on the train to NYC. The cabin is modestly full. Most people are continuing with their much needed sleep, but then there are some who seem to be engrossed in their laptops. Maybe the guy behind me is also writing about his travels. I wonder where he is going?

I send my two lovely sisters, Faria and Shen an email, letting them know that the flight appears to be on time. I need to do a few more things before a I board the flight. For one, I have to call my credit card companies to let them know that I will be traveling abroad and that they should not get alarmed if I have to use my card in some shady corner of Karachi.

I was just thinking about this and it struck me that this will be my first time in Karachi in April since 1997. Wow! And guess when I still remember some interesting things from that April so many years ago.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb