The Chosen Spot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Finger Lakes
November 1st 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunrise Over the LakeSunrise Over the LakeSunrise Over the Lake

This amazing sunrise woke us up one of the first mornings in the cottage. It was incredible. It was so incredible that even Westen got out of bed to come outside to look at it!
When the native Senecas gave Canandaigua Lake its name, they knew what they were talking about. It means "the chosen spot".

What a great summer it was. We finally moved into the long-awaited cottage, and loved every minute there. We kept pinching ourselves - were we just renting this place, or was it really ours? It is so far from the bustle and pollution of Shanghai - such a contrast. I had dreamed of that first cup of coffee on the dock in the morning, followed by a cool morning dip. We had talked about relaxing on the deck at the end of the day with a glass of wine and family and good friends. Ahhh….

That first flush of the toilet was so gratifying after all those years of camping there with...well, with nothing! (Those of you who have been there know what I mean!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

View From the DockView From the Dock
View From the Dock

No wonder we didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back!
A Look at the CottageA Look at the Cottage
A Look at the Cottage

Maybe you can see from here that we're quite high up a hill. It provides beautiful views and exercise!
Jumping on the TubeJumping on the Tube
Jumping on the Tube

We got a new GIANT tube at the beginning of the summer. I joked that I spent 1/2 of my waking hours this summer driving the boat. Obviously, it was a BIG hit.
Hanging out with the LuponesHanging out with the Lupones
Hanging out with the Lupones

What fun. What more can I say?
Ahh...the deckAhh...the deck
Ahh...the deck

We spent lots of time sitting out here this summer.
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...Somewhere Over the Rainbow...
Somewhere Over the Rainbow...

We saw two sets of double rainbows over the lake this summer.
Sherry and I TubingSherry and I Tubing
Sherry and I Tubing

While my sister Sherry and I braced ourselves for injury, Anika nearly fell asleep from the boredom of riding so slowly. I just can't convince the kids that I used to be a daredevil!
Anika and the MusketeersAnika and the Musketeers
Anika and the Musketeers

Big fun with the Musketeers paddling around the lake!
Another View of the LakeAnother View of the Lake
Another View of the Lake

One day we went hiking on the property of a couple that lives nearby. The views are amazing. We hiked into the woods to a ravine filled with waterfalls.
Major Tubing ActionMajor Tubing Action
Major Tubing Action

Tess and Lee were Westen and Anika's tubing buddies!
Cruising on the TugboatCruising on the Tugboat
Cruising on the Tugboat

One of our last days on the lake for the summer, Cathy and Jeremy picked us up, including Serge's parents, for a great cruise up the lake on their tugboat. What a treat!


8th November 2009

Awesome pictures! I wish we had more tome this summer to get down there! Hopefully next summer!!!!
8th November 2009

dream come true
This looks so incredible. I can't wait. And I anxiously wait for the day when I live on a lake too.
9th November 2009

The tubing picture made me laugh out loud just thinking of their antics :)
11th November 2009

When I saw this blog on the Chosen Spot I had warm feelings. As I scrolled down through the pictures I actually smiled and said, I am so glad I saw it in person and spent the time with your family. I laughed out loud when I read the true caption of you, Anika, and me on the tube. TEE HEE what fun! It was my only pleasant memory of the summer and thank you to all of you for it.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb