Greyhound Bus and a reminder to never F**ck around with Border Officials


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
September 20th 2013
Published: September 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The day has arrived and it is time for me to make my way to Buffalo to catch my flight. I booked my flight through Travelocity and it was only $580 but to get it this cheap my flights were a bit round about. I would fly from Buffalo to Philadelphia and than to Manchester, England. On the way home I would fly out of Glasgow and than to Philadelphia before arriving in Toronto. This made it tricky because I could not drive myself to the airport. After going through various options I opted for a Greyhound bus from Mississauga to Buffalo because it was $16.

Greyhound bus was comfortable and I mostly slept and listen to music until we reached the USA border. I have crossed the border often enough that I can handle myself with the border police. With Greyhound everyone gets off the bus at the border and you go in and they speak to each passenger. Mine went easily as I had my flight tickets to England and my return ticket back to Toronto. 2 of my fellow passengers were not so lucky and were kept at the location by the border officials. One of the women I remember because I was right behind her in the waiting line. She made the mistake of saying she is going to Atlanta and coming back in a few weeks but not booking her return ticket. Her next mistake was arguing with the border officials which never goes well. I have some sympathy for her but I will say if the border official tells to please sit down, standing there and arguing with them never goes well.

The bus driver kept us at border crossing for over an hour past our schedule to give them time to clear customs. We finally left when it became clear it was going to be a long time. I had enough time until my flight so I didn't really mind. My flight out of Buffalo was at 5:40PM and we got to the airport around 4:20PM. Flight got out on time and I made it to my connection in Philadelphia in time and my transatlantic flight was comfortable with video screens in the seat so that is always pleasant.

I spoke to my seatmates because this was one of the few flights I have taken where I was in the middle seat. Laura from England was a nice lady and was just returning from a sales trip around the USA. She has a job where she gets to fly to different cities. I told her I was jealous because I love travelling around and to get paid while doing that would be perfect. Food was decent and as always I slept a lot to pass the time. I woke as we were crossing over the Irish Sea towards our landing at Manchester airport and it was time to start my vacation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb