Chac-O it to me


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Into the city Into the city Into the city

Pueblo Bonito
Ya'at'eeh abini T'iists'ozi'doo!

Mesas and canyons before me, creating deep rifts where civilization thrived millenniums ago.

I see clouds white above rock buildings, steeped in time, then on walls next to them carvings and petroglyphs I can barely make out. Chaco Canyon has a mystical feel, and I don't think it's just the patch of cold air in the area that makes me shiver slightly. Imagining the Anasazi people lived here is bizarre when you look into the wide expanse of nature and wonder how they could live off the land for so long. It wasn't easy, that's obvious.

We're camping so these sunny days with surprising snow aren't exactly ideal, but at the same time, I'll miss winter as much as I'll be happy to see it go. This has been one wet season for the desert, and I'm glad to know we'll be blooming this year wherever I'll be.

As my journey ends here in Chaco, I see more clearly the importance of finding one's home, and settling into where you feel best. Our culture of transitory beings has allowed to lose all connections with our roots and culture through the land. I'll be out of the wilderness and home just in time on Wednesday to celebrate being 22 along with John's birthday as well. A new life starts from there!


-All photos were taken by my guide Wren!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb