T or C, NM


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
November 30th 2006
Published: December 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Truth or ConsequencesTruth or ConsequencesTruth or Consequences

Riverbend Hotel/Hostel
Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico!
I am here! I have been waiting for a long time to see this place. It keeps coming up in my top three on my "Find your spot" quiz. I think we want to buy property here. It was very late when I finally arrived after many, many hours on the road and the consumption of many doubleshots.
I found the Riverbend “hostel”, thanks to Tom (my gps) and inside the office I met Kat. She was sitting at the desk dressed in a sherpa hat and coveralls, playing solitaire with a deck of cards. I checked in ($25, no internet) and asked her how long she has been in T or C. She said that she has been living off the grid outside of Sante Fe for the last 6 years or so and has had some recent tragedy in her life so she came to T or C about 2 months ago to “heal”. You see, Truth or Consequences has Artesian Mineral Hot Springs that draw people for the health qualities. She was staying here at Riverbend when she was asked to paint a mural on the hotel wall (and work the front desk). She said that she has discovered a whole sub culture of artists and writers here that she really likes so she applied for a mortgage to buy a $30k house that needs some work. Kat also told me that you could easily buy a house here for $60k that is in perfect condition. Wow! After Kat showed me to my bunk (in a bedroom of a trailer, I was the only guest), I made some dinner (Thai noodles) in the microwave and hung out in the living room until Kat got off at 10pm. She was staying in the master bedroom of the trailer. After she got home, we talked about the town and things to do around here. The next day I went to the Happy Belly Deli for breakfast. It is a small place with a very T or C representative clientele. The town only has one traffic light and about 7000 inhabitants. There are 2 main streets in the downtown area. On these streets there are boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, diners, galleries, second hand stores, museums, grocery stores…..etc. There is even an indie film theater (currently for sale). I got to talk to many of the town
Truth or ConsequencesTruth or ConsequencesTruth or Consequences

Riverbend hostel trailer and my truck
folk. Quite an eclectic group of artists, retirees, cowboys, hippies, gays, granola-ites and a some trailer dwelling people like the characters of My Name is Earl. They all seem to coexist well. There are views of mountains and Richard Branson is building the first commercial spaceport nearby, which will attract engineer types into this mix. I hope to come out here in April for an entire month to make sure we like it before buying anything. I’d love to have a place with access to the hot springs or the river (Rio Grande) here. I spent a great morning wandering around talking to people but now I need to take off to go to my sister’s place in Tucson. It is about a 4.5 hour drive.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Truth or ConsequencesTruth or Consequences
Truth or Consequences

View from my room window
T or CT or C
T or C

Kitchen
T or CT or C
T or C

Riverbend courtyard
T or CT or C
T or C

Riverbend courtyard
T or CT or C
T or C

Rio Grand view from hot springs tubs
T or CT or C
T or C

Hot springs tubs at Riverbend
T or CT or C
T or C

Hot springs tubs at Riverbend
T or CT or C
T or C

Hot springs tubs at Riverbend...hot, hotter and hottest
T or CT or C
T or C

fat cat
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown...in the Happy Belly Deli courtyard
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown...inside the Happy Belly Deli
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown
T or CT or C
T or C

Downtown


15th December 2006

Cool
Just passed thru T Or C - u describe it perfectly
17th December 2006

T or C Denizen
T or C is a wild place to live. Been coming here for 2 years - living here for one. Glad you liked it.
31st January 2007

C'mon down
Yes, T or C is an interesting place. I've been coming down since 98' and have been involved in some of the changes downtown. I own the "Firebox" studio/gallery. It's a pottery studio and gallery, with a hot spring in back. There is also a music yard with a stage where locals play on sundays, weather permitting. Don't be shy, you'll love it. Spring comes early February.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 99; dbt: 0.0902s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb