Beach Day


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2019
Edit Blog Post

blog 04-02-19 Beach Day

Lynne had shown me a picture she took yesterday morning of the moon and Venus rising just before dawn, so this morning I woke up hoping to see them. I did and was able to capture their image before the sun rose, but somehow missed Mercury. Then the sunrise was getting more colorful, which is rare out here, so I stayed up for that and caught the colors in the lake.

Later in the morning Watson and I walked to the beach far down from the campground and he was playing in the sand and I was taking pictures of our campground when I saw something in the sky. It was a flock of white pelicans circling right over the very place my camper is parked. There must have been 60 of them and I couldn't get a decent picture because my telephoto lens, not the big one, wouldn't focus. There must be some dust in the barrel somewhere. They disappeared in the clouds so I don't know which way they went so I can't track them.

Later I took Watson to the vet here in T or C because of his ongoing anal gland issue but all is well now.

About 3:30 I packed chair, refreshments and table in the car and picked Lynne up to drive to the island for a relaxing happy hour. Again I am driving in the sand so caution is key, stay on the gravely part. The wind was horrific down there creating white caps and sand blasting us so we moved our spot to a better protected cove. We parked and walked down behind a little hill and were pretty well isolated from the wind. The sun was brilliant and the colors on the water just perfect for our peaceful


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb