Albuquerque to Taos


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Taos
August 28th 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

TaosTaosTaos

Coming into Taos on "The High Road"
August 28 – Sunday
This morning I drove up I-25 and turned West just north of Bernalillo onto Hwy 550. I took that Northwest to San Yisidro where I went North on Hwy 4. I went through some really beautiful country most notable for the red rocks it has. The rocks are red and the red sand gives all the water and streams here an ink like color. Strange.
I stopped at a place called Soda Dam where mineral deposits had formed a dam across the river. After that I went up to the parking lot for the Spence Hot Springs. It required a mile hike and the parking lot was full so I decided that I would wait and go tomorrow (Monday) when the kids were in school and their parents were working. So I drove up Hwy 4 just touring and looking for a good campsite for the night. I went and had a look at Jemez falls with another mile hike, and I hiked to it but at this altitude it was tough. After visiting the falls I drove back to the Jemez Falls campground and rented a site. $10.
I got a site in the middle of
some huge Pondorosa Pine trees and spent most of the rest of the day watching the trees and the clouds and doing some homework for Monday. I don’t know what the elevation of the Jemez Falls campground is but it is up there.
Later
August 29 Taos
Long day today. Went to Los Alamos and then to explore another pueblo on a mesa, the Tsankawa Ruin. The altitude was around 7000ft. It was a very strenuous hike. But as they say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. It was well worth tourning the site just for the splendid views from the mesa.
When you get through with touring the top of the mesa you climb down on this ladder and start down on the trail alongside the cliff. I can see now why women balanced the water jugs on their heads. You need to hold onto the side of the cliff with your hands.
I arrived in Taos around 5:30. I took the high road to get to it…..beautiful.
After looking around the town a bit I went to a free dispersed campground in the Carson National Forest Northeast of Taos off Hwy 150- Cuchillo Campground. The price was right free. It was a little spooky because I was the only one there but it worked out OK.

Advertisement



5th September 2011

The Ponderosa Pines sound lovely.
Beautiful picture on the High Road.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb