Aaaahhhhh! New Mexico!!!!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Taos
August 7th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I believe in my last blog I mentioned that changes in my plans had been happening almost continously. That trend continued over the last few weeks. As you all know, I packed all my belongings into my RV and was getting it road ready. The generator was repaired but it was Jult 21st before the towing package was installed on the RV and the Jeep. That took a full day as a towing plate had to be attached to the frame of the jeep and the tail lights had to be re-wired. It took the RV Shop longer than expected to complete the job because they were having issues with the wiring. I pulled out of the shop at 5:30 Thursday evening with the jeep in tow. This was after the shop had checked the lights and verified everything was working.

At 8:22 the next morning I received a call from the salesman at the shop saying he was behind me on the way home and noticed a problem with the jeep. I had to bring it back in that afternoon and, after another half hour waiting, was told that the problem was with the RV and not the jeep. I asked exactly what was wrong and was told that the right turn signal was not working properly. I knew enough about those trailer type connections to realize that it could be something simple or something very time consuming. The salesman asked me to bring the RV in Monday so they could work on it. I told him I couldn't do that and figured James and I could work out the problems over the weekend. I had to be in Colorado Springs on the 29th to pick Sarah and James up at the airport and wanted to give myself plenty of time to get there.

I dropped James off at the house that evening and he was telling Nelson about the wiring problems. Nelson generously offered to come early the next morning and look at the wiring. Within a half hour he had found a bad connection on the bus and repaired it. He tested all the lights at the factory connection and everything was working. Then he plugged in the little pigtail that he had repaired, checked the lights again, and all was working. Next, Nelson plugged in the wiring harness from the RV Shop and everything worked on it. But, when he plugged the harness into the jeep the only thing working properly was the left turn signal!! UGH!! Seems the problem was not with the RV afterall!

Nelson removed the taillights on the jeep and found that several of the wires were crossed. The right turn signal was wired to the left so when the right signal was on both signal lights blinked. The brake lights were wired to the filaments for the parking lights and visa versa. The flashers didn't work at all and the wires they had installed were hanging down a foot below the bumper. It took us 3 hours to straighten out the mess the shop had made of the jeep's wiring!!! I was furious. When I called the salesman back Monday morning all he could say was the lights on the jeep were working when we tested it here. I don't know how that was possible but that is what he said. I asked how they tested it and he said they have a harness attached to a battery that is plugged into the jeep. When I asked if it was possible that their harness was wired incorrectly he said they use it frequently and never had any complaints. So, it is a mystery as to how the lights on the jeep didn't work when I left Thursday evening, they worked at the shop on Friday but didn't work at all Saturday morning. Gremlins I suppose. Still am not a happy customer and would not recommed that RV shop to anyone!

It was Monday evening about 4 when I finally got on the road to Mom and Dad's in Logansport. Which was another adventure that I will have to share later as this blog is getting lengthy.

More later.

Denise

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb