Between Two Canyons


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

As we were silently walking through the canyons along the dry riverbed, I was visited by our 7 and 8-year-old selves. I kept having remembrances of exploring the cornfields out behind our house. I had the realization that we are still those little girls with the same adventurous spirit, only time has moved forward and that spirit has brought us here, exploring lands much further beyond our backyard. We still take the time to stop and examine things in the mud; we are still pocketing rocks that we deem "cool" and we still have a sense of endless wonder and amazement of the natural world around us. This got me thinking, maybe time isn't what changes us. I am still that 7-year-old girl. I just haven't had the time or patience to listen to her in my daily life, but since I have had the opportunity to step outside of time for awhile, I can see that clearly. Life is filled with pressures, obligations, and fear that often hushes what is true in us. Where would we find ourselves if we frequently took the time to listen to that 7-year-old inside of us? Taking guitar lessons? Traveling to Europe? Practicing to be a ballerina? The possibilities are exciting and endless. In my case, I found myself here, walking alongside my sister, between two canyons in New Mexico.



-MM

Advertisement



1st March 2015

I feel like I'm right there!
I'm assuming you will write a book Your descriptions are amazing My younger self wants to sell everything and hit the road? be safe and have fun.
2nd March 2015

Being 7 Years Old
Oh, girlies, how I remember when you were 7 and 8 - or was it 6 and 7? - This last entry into your blog brought tears to my eyes because of the memories I carry in my heart and mind when you were so young! I'm glad you were able to go back to that time on this trip - it was a time of renewal for two little girls who had been through quite a bit in their young lives. However, look in the mirror and see what WONDERFUL adult women you have become! I love you! Can't wait to read about the next chapter :)
4th March 2015

We Love You Grandma!
Your comment almost brought tears to our eyes. We are constantly reminding ourselves how important this trip is and how we have to honor those two little girls. We are so fortunate to have had and always have the support of you. We love you so much. xoxo Maddie and Kayli
4th March 2015

Two canyons
Ok finally found how to coment on your blog. You must be having so much fun. Wish I was your 6 year old little brother with you and you could be showing me all the cool stuff too. I've always been young at heart too but my bones keep reminding me of my young old age ha ha. My mind wil never let me forget though. Count your blessings every day and you will always be wealthy because you both are very blessed. Never stop having fun. Peace and may God Bless. Aloha. Glen
4th March 2015

Aloha Glen!
You are a brother to us, Glen. We are an ohana! We cherish the days we got to spend with you by that beautiful Kona seaside. Don't let your bones fool you, it's just those meddling kids you keep throwing in the pool. We miss you and think about you every day! We still dream of coming back for a visit. You'll be the first to know. Keep in touch! Aloha, Maddie and Kayli

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb