Silver City to Pueblo Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Silver City
August 17th 2011
Published: August 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

August 17, WednesdaySilver City to ?
Today the plan is to head northwest out of Silver City through the Gila National Forest towards Eagar Arizona. I’ll be checking out campgrounds on the way and am not sure where I will end up at this evening. After I get to Eager I will head back East towards Socorro and then North to Albuquerque. At least that’s the plan. It will probably take 2 to 3 days to get to Albuquerque.
I’ve had an enjoyable 2 days here in Silver City but I guess it’s time to get those wheels a turnin again.
One thing I have learned very well in the past week and a half. When leaving a good size town and heading off into a National Forest or desert leave with your water containers and gas tank full !
As it turned out I decided to just stay another day in Silver City.
August 18 Silver City to Pueblo Park , Thursday
Today left Silver City and drove through the Gila Wilderness on Hwy 180 to Pueblo Park campground south of Reserve, NM. The campground was only 6 miles off Hwy 180 on CO 13 but it was an extremely
narrow and rough road. The problem with that is that they do have signs posted that tell you this but they aren’t at the entrance on the Hwy but after you are on the Narrow and rough road with no place to turn around so you are committed by the time you see them.
I finally got to the campground after my truck took a severe beating and got me a good spot by a trickling stream. About an hour after I got there a storm blew in and it poured down rain and lightning for about 40 minutes. So I let the seat back in my truck and took a nap. When I woke up it had quit raining and I heard a torrent of water. The trickling stream was now a rushing torrent. It continued raining off and on for the next few hours and I used the time doing homework on the New Mexico Pueblo’s and Albuquerque. The plan for Friday is to go up 180 into Arizona and north to Ojo Caliente and then East on Hwy 53 to the Zuni Pueblo, El Morro National Monument, Bandera Volcano and Ice Caves, Enchanted Mesa and the Acoma Pueblo and Mission. Or as much as time permits as I doubt I will do all this in one day and do any of the sites justice. What I don’t visit Friday I will do on Saturday and then head into Albuquerque.
There are 6 photo's with this entry


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SignSign
Sign

Westerners don't take kindley to signs saying they can't go somewhere.
Group gatheringGroup gathering
Group gathering

Some kind of group gathering was going on across the road but they were very well behaved and quiet whoever they were.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb