Summer Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
June 24th 2021
Published: June 29th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


06-25-21

Summer Trip, Catching Up



I am now living in a warmer climate so a winter escape is not necessary but a summer escape sure is. The temperatures were 107 during the day and settling at 80 at night, entirely toooo hot for me. So north I went.

My first stop was at Cochiti Lake to visit my friend Lynne. It is located just west of Santa Fe, NM in a little higher elevation so the temps were warm but cooled off at night. We explored some of the area and went to Valles Caldera National Preserve for a beautiful scenic ride to an extinct volcano. It exploded thousands of years ago and what is left is the outer ring, about 10 miles across, and a gorgeous green meadow, home to herds of elk, deer and lots of prairie dogs. Pictures

The next day I explored the lake area at Cochiti then in the afternoon we went to Santa Fe for a walk about and then dinner. We found a great store tucked away in an alley and proceeded to have a buying spree. I bought a shirt that was designed by the owner and made in Italy. Can't describe it, I'll have to get a picture. At least I didn't buy the $1200.00 opal neckless...

It was June 19 and there was a concert in the square with hundreds of people enjoying the music. SOOO great to see people out and about enjoying each other. Dinner was a real challenge. The first restaurant had a 3 HOUR wait, the 2nd wasn't taking any more names so we headed out of town and found a delightful place with outside seating and only 1/2 hr wait. They had a live band in the courtyard that entertained all and dancing too. Delightful evening.

The next day I headed north to Pueblo for an overnight on my way to Ft Collins.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.363s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 101; dbt: 0.2325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb