Catching Up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Deming
March 5th 2020
Published: March 6th 2020
Edit Blog Post

blog 02-05-2020 Catching Up

I am including many pictures in this blog to catch up on my activities for the past several days.

Some of the pictures are from Rockhound State Park and will be labeled so.

I spent time collecting pictures of the different birds in the compground. Some of them are residents, some are just passing through. They sing most of the day and give me so much enjoyment. The Bedire's Thrasher is building a nest in the yucca bush/tree next to my camper and coming and going at all times along with a pair of sparrows that are nesting too. They seem to be cooperating with each other so I guess it's an apartment yucca.

The doves are all over and feed mostly on the ground. They do fly around a lot and coooo, very pleasant.

The other day I heard what I thought was a huge cat fight. It turned out to be a bunch of coyote pups excited about something. Nothing that loud since but I do hear an occasional howling at night.

There are bob cats and mountain lions among the wildlife here but I have not seen any which is fine with me.

Lynne and I went to a restaurant named "Adobe Deli " that is way out on the other side of the mountain. I thought we were on the wrong road but sure enough, about 1/2 mile down the road was a dilapidated building that houses this establishment.

I surely didn't know what to expect from the looks of the outside and going inside didn't give me any confidence. There were stuffed animals, posters, suit of armor, books and assorted other clutter all over. We found a table next to a heater to keep warm and perused the menu. Lynne was looking forward to a rubin sandwich and I ended up ordering a shish-ka-bob. When our meal finally got here I was astounded at the size of both meals but especially mine. The skewer was the size of a sword with enough food on it for 4 meals. Both our dinner/lunches were delicious and we brought most of it home. Pictures.

I said good-bye to Lynne with hope that we will have more chapters in our story together.

I took some pictures going home, beautiful scenery.

Today I went out to lunch with 11 of the residents of the campground to a restaurant in a truck stop the next exit from Deming, about 17 miles. Again not knowing what to expect, I went in blind but was pleasantly surprised. There were lots of choices and everyone was pleased with what they had and most of us went home with dinner or tomorrow's lunch. There was great conversation, I learned that most of the people who went to lunch live in the campground full time. Some leave for a few months in the summer but most stay. There are no children here either but lots of dogs and cats.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb