Rockhound


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Deming
March 19th 2019
Published: March 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-19-19 Rockhound

The sun is shinning today and I went to Rock Hound State Park about 20 miles from here. I heard it was a beautiful place to camp and I wanted to see what it had to offer.

It was beautiful and Watson and I took a walk on one of their trails to see if we could spot a treasure. You can take rocks home from here as long as they don't weigh more than 17 lbs. Oh wow, a legal place to gather rocks! It was mid day and starting to get hot so we didn't go far but I did manage to get 2 little rocks to add to my water garden at home. There were flowers everywhere and they are called Mexican Poppies, real beauties. Pictures I hope.

I drove to another park 2 miles away but it is only open Wed thru Sun so I turned around and headed back. The scenery was beautiful with jagged rock mountains and desert landscape with a house here and there.

When we got home Pat had already arrived so we talked for a time then decided to meet for happy hour in the gathering room then head to the motel next door for Taco Tuesday. I had 3 tacos and my bill was $3.50, how can you beat that! We visited with about 17 other campers, had a great cheap meal, and returned to the campground to sit outside and talk some more.

We watched the big, huge moon rise, talked and then called it a night. Really nice day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb