Green Chile Cheeseburgers


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Corrales
July 13th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am spending the week in an area north of Albuquerque, New Mexico. One of my favorite foods in this area is the green chile cheeseburger. People in this area make your basic cheeseburger and then smother the cheese with green chiles. I am not an expert on various chile peppers, but I love these green chiles. One of the hallmarks of New Mexico food is green chiles.

I asked one of the locals here where I could find a good green chile cheeseburger (everyone here sells them - even McDonalds and Burger King). He pointed me to the Owl Cafe. This is a local chain that began in San Antonio, New Mexico (I don't know where that is). They just opened on here in Coralles.

A friend and I went to lunch at the Owl Cafe. Great! This is sort of a fast food place. You order at the counter and they bring your food to the table. My friend had a green chile chesseburger and fries. I had the same with onion rings. The cheeseburgers are great. The are loaded with green chiles. The meat is juicy. The portions of fires and onion rings are large. Price - less than $10.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb