Getting ready to get cultured


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
March 30th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

"Traveling -it leaves you speechless, then it turns you into a storyteller." Ibn Battuta



I'm at my son's in Denville, NJ waiting for my Empire Town Car to take me to the Newark airport. So far my 6 p.m. flight to Amsterdam has been changed twice. This also necessitated a change in my connecting flight to Nice. I know I will eventually get there and that Oliver, my Grand Circle guide will, hopefully, be holding up a little sign saying "Ms. Taylor." If not, well, I'll be in Nice, France, a place so lovely that my sweet writing workshop leader, Valentine, says is the most beautiful place on earth.

I will be taking a river cruise with 40 other travelers from Arles (checking out Van Gogh's home), then on to Avignon, Viviers, Touron, Lyon, and more. I will have five glorious days in Paris where I hope to explore markets, parks, and maybe a museum or two.

My dear friend Pat, who I traveled to Russia and Ireland with, sent me some lovely books about Provence by Peter Mayle. I love this passage " ...tourists, of course are other people ; never us. We consider ourselves travelers- intelligent, well-mannered,cultured, a blessing to our chosen destination, a delight to have around."

So on this trip, my first to France, I am going to be a tourist soaking in the markets, parks, food, scenery,and above all the people.

I am never sure if wifi will be available on the river boats but be assured I will be taking notes and observing and will tell you all my stories when I do get a chance to write .... And maybe a picture or two.



❤️ Carolyn/ gunga

Advertisement



30th March 2016

Have fun....
How exciting! You are sub a traveler - I am surprised this is your first trip to France. Are you still living in TN near your daughter?
30th March 2016

Went afar first
The loose plan was always to go to more far afield places first and then do the 'easy' ones as I got creaky. I am very excited about going to France- the art, the food, the lavender fields-what's not to live. Yes, I still live in Memphis. Linda is now acting Dean of the School of Language and Audiology @ the Univ. of Memphis. Her kids are now in 6th and 9 th grades. I bookended my trip with Newark so I could visit w PJ and his family. He is teaching German at the high school where his daughter ,Stella, and his step- daughter ,Julia attend. Busy girls. Are you still doing photography?
31st March 2016

Fantastic trip!
We will be eagerly awaiting the blog. Sounds like a perfect itinerary.
2nd April 2016

Missing you
So ridiculous that we are missing each other by only a few days as I head to Paris and you leave. I plan to do lots of people watching and visit many pastry shops and only a museum or two. Carolyn

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb