New Jersey New semester


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
February 18th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Second semester of my Junior year at Rutgers. Oh the joy and fulfillment one gets from being so close to being done with school. NOT.

All of my friends are abroad this semester, all of them. I am left here alone to start "fresh". But how can you start fresh when you have already been around for so long? I guess in a sense its a useful challenge since it makes me think outside of the box. My box, that is. I have to be more open to meeting new people in my classes, which I have never been in previous semesters. I have always been a very social and outgoing person, but mainly on my own terms... so not like this. But life is throwing me a lemon right now, and i can either lick it with a sour sad face or add some salt and tequila and take it with my head held high. I would say make a lemonade out of it, but I can drink that when I am older... could use some sugar though. Ehem?

Rutgers prepares me for the real world in more ways than one. Lets take their choice in professors, for example. Hiring people who are so full of themselves they think it is below them to help out even the most eager of young students definitely gives me a valuable lesson as far as "real life" goes: even the nastiest of people will get a job and win awards. Being a nice, caring person is not going to get you ahead in life. At least not in this country. I am starting to feel like I would much rather scoop ice cream for young high school kids than sharpen my nails as I go to work just to secure a seat for myself in my career. Honestly? People hate americans because of people like , who think that they are entitled to respect just because of the things that they have achieved in their lives. No. You will earn my respect just like anyone else. To me, you are nothing more than a professor who is here to help me and at the same time is earning money. If you can't deal with that then maybe try going back to journalism.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb