26 Days and Counting!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I think the last time I was this excited was in the weeks leading up to my first trip to Europe; the trip which was ultimately a huge precursor to my impending round-the-world trip. Because I've been dreaming about doing a trip like this for so long, nowadays it's tough to absorb the reality of it. I try to make light of and relish such a high amount of anticipation but at the end of the day, the lack of patience wins and I would give anything to time travel to June 21.

My things-to-do list is coming along. It feels good to get the boring stuff out of the way, but there's also an irrational alarming feeling that comes with dropping thousands of dollars and it not even getting me out of the house yet. My flight to Cape Town is booked, my overland tour in Africa is booked, I have about 75% of my immunizations, and now my travel blog is evidently set up. Most importantly, I still have to get insurance, decide on a malaria prophylaxis, decide on and book a hostel in Cape Town, and book my flight from Kilimanjaro to Cairo.

When it comes to the esoteric debate of buying a RTW ticket versus buying tickets as you go, I've decided to go with the latter. I'm hopefully not underestimating that it will cost an extra $1,000 or so, but I've decided it's worth it for the flexibility. I am trying to avoid locking myself into itineraries and schedules, and improvise as much as possible. It's all part of the adventure, right? This is the extent of my organization of my route: 12 hours in Frankfurt, Cape Town for 10 days, 40 day overland tour with Nomad Tours (South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Tanzania, Zanzibar), Kilimanjaro trek, overland from Cairo to Istanbul, maybe meet up with some people in Munich for Oktoberfest, then hopefully to Bangkok by October 1, overland through southeast Asia (northern Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, back to Bangkok and down the penninsula all the way to Singapore), fly to Australia -- probably Cairns -- and go all the way down the east coast to Melbourne, then make a final stop to visit friends in either San Diego or Berlin on the way home.

I'll hopefully be able to update this somewhat consistently in the next half year and I'll try to post pictures as well. So stay tuned for all the stories and adventures, good and bad!

Advertisement



16th June 2008

im really excited for u. i leave for spain next week but of course it doesnt come close to what ur doing. ill c u when u get to oz! cheers, caitlyn
20th June 2008

My exciting adventure this summer is is going to Long Island New York for fourteen year old lacrosse tournament. I am making my husband take the weekend off because I am too scared to go my myself. Maybe when I get a little older I will become less apprehensive and travel to say Flemington New Jersey on my own.
22nd June 2008

!!!!
im gonna write on ur myspace 2 cuz not sure what ull read but i miss u already..i had 2 fill my tank 2 the 2nd time haha..me n jenn took over ur room..u should b in germany by now..just waitin 2 read ur next blog..b safe..love u!!!!
23rd June 2008

catch-up
No, I didn't get your email but your mom did and she forwarded to me. I feel better knowing that your made it to capetown. I can't believe that you forgot something as important as that...I hope she can get it to you in time. Vaya Con Dios ( I hope I remember my spanish) Love, G-mom

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb