England Summer 2014


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Princeton
August 6th 2014
Published: August 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday August 6 and Thursday August 7,2014




My goal before traveling to England this summer was to clean and organize my apt in New Jersey. I have included a few pictures of my apt and others to begin my new summer adventure. Five minutes before 3:00 pm,a taxi arrived and I said my "goodbyes" to my beloved Calico cat: Sophie and got into the taxi with my luggage towards Princeton Junction Train Station. I bumped into a parent from the CP community and we rode the train to the Airport stop and caught up with each other news and she took a picture of the both of us as well. I arrived early at Newark Airport around 4:45 pm and I dropped my one piece of checked luggage at Virgin Atlantic Desk and confirmed the boarding pass I had printed earlier that day. I hung out at a table and ate some snack before going through security and to gate #53. I finally boarded the plane about 2 hours later ,about 6:45 pm and the seat next to me was empty,so that was really nice. I watched a movie and slept some and finally was on the tarmac of Heathrow around 7:15 am,Thursday August 7. About 1 hour and 30 minutes later, I came through customs and sat down in the waiting area for Sally. We both knew it was going to be awhile for the both of us to meet up because Sally was driving up from Cornwall ( Southern tip of the UK-on the coast) , after visiting family.

Sally arrived between 12:15-12:30 pm and we finally left Heathrow ten minutes later. We both arrived at PFH(Poplar Farm House) at 2:35 pm and we relaxed a bit after greeting Sheri,Jason,Millie and the two (WOOFERS). Laeticia from France and Miquel from Barcelona, both very nice people to meet. I unpacked and chilled for awhile, I was exhausted from jet lag. Later in the afternoon, Sally's sister Wendy and her husband Tim dropped the dogs off from their mini vacation with another relative who is staying at (The Pound), Sally and Wendy's parents house in the village of Higham. The four of us and dogs took a tour of the garden,had some tea,some swam in the pool and chatted for a bit and then Sheri came over and greeted us as well. Around 8 pm, Laeticia,Miquel and myself began to eat our nice supper and then Sally came back from a meeting about 45 minutes later. I had stayed up till 9:30pm(UK-time) and I was very tired and so I said goodnight to everybody. I now bid Au revoir,Adios and Goodnight to all! 😊 zzzz!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



11th August 2014

Living Vicariously Thru You
Jo, I signed on to Monet with the intention of starting those required school tutorials. I am in the midst of a mess here with major wall repairs and painting so I figured I would stay out of the mess and get some work done. Well, I saw your blog email and took a slight detour. What a nice time you are having! Since a vacation is not in the cards for me, I am enjoying your trip all the more. Enjoy and stay safe. Debbie

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb