Take-Off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Newark » EWR
February 21st 2014
Published: May 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The days before our flight were the longest nerve racking, exciting days of my life. I was about to embark on a journey only few people take, I was about to step way out of my comfort zone. Of course me being a male I waited till the day before my flight left to pack, but surprisingly I didn't forget anything important! Finally the day came February 21st. The parents and I got up early to head to Newark, New Jersey where I would begin the first leg of my journey into the unknown.



Now I don't know if you ever been to Newark or New Jersey in general, but it’s an interesting place in itself. To sum up the drive and time spent in Newark I'll tell you a short experience I won’t forget... We were driving through Newark, probably about 5 minutes off the Interstate when we were stuck behind an interesting sight. It was a pickup truck going about 5 mph with its flashers on. At first we were confused by why it was going so slow, but upon looking at the car we realized its back tire was flat. The driver of the vehicle was so determined to not stop in this "area" of Newark he was driving on rim… Yeah, that sums up Newark for you in a nutshell, interesting place.



After the interesting sight we saw, we finally made our way to our stop before the airport, IHOP! There was no better way to leave America, than a big stack of Cinna-Stack Pancakes and a tall glass of Milk... mhmmm so good! Cannot wait to get back home and enjoy the same thing after touch down!



We finally arrived to the airport. Heart racing, nerves shaking, I was about to make my first ever flight alone and my first ever cross country flight. I was the first one there of our six man crew from LVC. One by one everyone else started to arrive and we all got checked in. From there we said goodbye to our parents and for some our significant others. It was hard, scary, exciting, and new; we started our journey on our own, no guidance, and the freedom of being thousands of miles away from the land we call home. We waited for a couple hours as the 6 of us talked about our new experience and adventure that laid ahead, then we stepped onto our first flight, 6 hrs to LAX, we were ready for take-off.



-The Time We Have

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb