Camp Calumet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire » Freedom
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

so this isn't a new place i traveled to. nothing about this is new. this entry is about the end of a chapter of my life.
for 11 years i have gone to Camp Calumet Lutheran for boys and girls in Freedom, NH. i've been a camper, a trainee, and a counselor. camp is a place that has changed my life and has meant more to me than any country in the world ever could.

i left on saturday and won't be returning next summer. i don't know how i can put my eleven years of experience into words, but i'm going to try here.

camp is love. camp is a place where i found myself. where i learned it was okay to act like a child (in fact, it's encouraged). camp is a place of no judgment. i have gone a week without showering and still get hugged every moment of every day. i can't even count how many times i get hugged a day but i never get sick of it. being a camp counselor is what i'm good at. making sure kids have fun, having fun with them, teaching them about god. i've learned how to be a ninja and blend in with trees and cabins. i've learned how to work with people i love and hate and keep a smile on my face no matter what. camp is a place where i'm not afraid to cry and let people see my true self. camp is a place where i learned that i'm not the only one in the world who pees when i laugh really hard. i've fallen on my face and embarrassed myself countless times, but that's another thing that's encouraged. camp is where i've met my real friends. the people i can really tell anything to. more than half of my contacts in my phone are from calumet. it's a job, it's a vacationland. i am constantly surrounded by friends. i can walk outside my cabin and have twelve people to talk to. when i want alone time i can sit on the beach and look out at the moon and stars above the still-watered lake. camp is a place for hokey pokey mondays, flannel fridays, and sid the sloth days. camp is the reason i started drinking coffee. camp people are the first people i call when something happens in my life.

i love being covered in paint. i love wearing bright socks and homemade t-shirts and matching with my co. i love having 23942359 inside jokes with the staff as a whole and random people. i love hilarious things campers say or do. i love hugs. i love how people just know when i'm upset and are immediately there to comfort me. i love being a grumpy old man and getting the kids to have fun being grumpy old men too. i love having water fights on hot days. i love dizzy bat slip n slides with 8-11 year old girls. i love that people understand me at camp whether i'm being serious or insane. i love that i don't have to care about how i look because normal attire is a t-shirt and shorts or dumpy sweatpants and a sweatshirt. i love how i embarrass myself in public now because i'm in total camp mode. i love that i've found a family at camp. i love that people cried over me leaving. i love that countless numbers of trainees and current staff members look up to me and strive to be me. i love that the only place i've ever been homesick for is camp and am currently crying as i type this. i love that on the day i left there was a crowd of about 30 people standing around my cabin waiting to say goodbye to me. camp is home to me. it's my family, and my best friends. i already hate myself because i'm not coming back next year.

i may not get paid well, i may have some terrible campers, but the experiences i have at camp and the love that i share and receive is something that a lot of people will never experience. i am truly blessed to have found such a place. calumet is where i found myself and where i share myself unapologetically because calumet is where i am completely and utterly free to be me. it is truly the greatest place in the world

this sip of heaven is all we need to find and feel your love

Advertisement



19th August 2009

That is a wonderful tribute to you and to the camp. I think your Mom loved it also. It will be wonderful to hold onto to those hugs so you can feel free to give them. I send you my hug and good wishes for you on your next venture, college. Much love Baba

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb