Day One


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Winnemucca
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MapMapMap

This is how far I have made it in day one.

Day one...

It started off slow. I started packing the car around 8am and didn't get done til 1pm. I have way too much stuff and not enough room. I finally fit everything and loaded Bobette and Shelly in the car. I didn't know how they would take the movement of the car and being on the road. They adjusted well and were walking around and eating lettuce before going to sleep. I got stuck in traffic going over the bridge, but the rest was pretty good. I didn't make good time at all but tomorrow will be better and I will hopefully make it through Utah and into Wyoming before I stop for the night. I have been listening to CD's made by my Blue October Street Team friends. There is a wide variety that I have listened to so far, but I can say that I like every single one.

I have pulled over to stay at the Covered Wagon Motel in Lovelock, Nevada, about 45 min south of Winnemucca. I got the last room for the night which was cool and it comes with free internet too. Bobette and Shelly are on the dresser, the sign says
BobetteBobetteBobette

Eating some lettuce
that no pets are allowed, but I am sure they don't have tortoises in their policy. 😉




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

My Co-PilotsMy Co-Pilots
My Co-Pilots

Shelly and Bobette eating before they went to sleep for the day...and probably night too.
Loomis!Loomis!
Loomis!

I passed through the city of Loomis, I thought it was cool lol
TreesTrees
Trees

Side of the road
HillHill
Hill

I thought the rock looked neat.
Pretty TreesPretty Trees
Pretty Trees

I just love the way this looks.
More TreesMore Trees
More Trees

I like trees...what can I say ;)
MountainsMountains
Mountains

Approaching the mountains
Getting closerGetting closer
Getting closer

They look way better in person
Not Far..Not Far..
Not Far..

...to Reno. I haven't been there in over 6 years.
Entering NevadaEntering Nevada
Entering Nevada

The sign is a little blurry
Rest StopRest Stop
Rest Stop

The trees looked so cool.


25th September 2008

tortoises welcome
Jessica: I'm glad you found this website so we can keep in touch and chart your progress. You've been busy getting your money's worth out of that laptop. This is cool I get to experience your adventure right along with you. As far as your co-pilots, I'm glad Shelley and Bobette seem to have adjusted well. You probably missed the other sign, the one that says "Tortoises Welcome".

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb