Merry Christmas from Elko, NV


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Winnemucca
December 24th 2007
Published: December 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Merry Christmas to my loyal followers.

Dave and I are back in the good old USA for the holidays. We been running ourselves ragged visiting some friends and family and liquidating assets. We plan to keep sailing for a few more years. I've been paying over $2500/year in storage which is ridiculous and If I keep it in there a few more years, I could just buy all new stuff! From the minute I got to my parents house up in Sonoma, I had posted furniture and other high dollar items on craigslist. I can't tell you how awesome that site is. I also had to have a garage sale. Not much fun but very successful. In fact we were so busy first thing in the morning that a few things got stolen. We couldn't possibly keep an eye on everyone.
Dave also brought his stuff down from storage in Seattle and sold a few things. We ended up consolidating our un-partable goods in a small unit at only $28/month.

Let me tell you it was really hard emotionally to sell or donate nearly everything, but in the end it's a bit liberating. It gives me the freedom to keep traveling or just stop in some other country and live/work for a while. Unfortunately we aren't retired, so we will have to go back to work someday. We are toying with the idea of looking for jobs in Australia. Of course we aren't ready to back to work yet, but we will see if something good comes up. Jobs probably pay a bit better there, then say Indonesia!

We are wrapping up our trip in Elko, Nevada. Dave's sister lives here and the whole family (24) is here for a week or so for the festivities. We fly back home (our boat in Australia) on Dec 30th.

I apologize to all those I didn't get a chance to see or meet up with on this trip. We hope to have some visitors to the boat next year.

Have a wonderfull 2008!

Advertisement



24th December 2007

Merry Christmas
Hey guys, it was great seeing you. Dave, it was really nice to meet you. Hope you have a great Christmas. Have a safe trip back and keep those blogs and photos coming!!! Kitty
24th December 2007

Merry Christmas
Hi Kathy and Dave, Just wanted to wish you a merry Christmas and Happy New Year before you left for the land down under. May you be safe in your journeys and may 2008 be another wonderous year for you two. Thanks for reaching out from around the world to us land lubbers who have day jobs. Your blog keeps me dreaming of the good life! Sincerely Steve Gerken
14th January 2008

Happy New Year!
Hey Kathy, glad to see you're still having fun! Hope 2008 is a great one for you! Cheers, Bernard.
23rd January 2008

See you next Christmas!
Hi Kathy- We (myself and some Fisher/Promega friends) had hoped to catch up with you in SF for hours of story telling and wine drinking. Yes, us telling stories of corporate life to help ensure that you sail for many more years. Let's try for the Holidays in 2008! Elko--arghh, I thought I was the only person who spends time in Elko (enroute to Idaho my adopted state.) Take care and have fun. -Joe B

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb