At Any Time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Reno
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

406 am: I woke up, the other bed was empty. I considered getting alarmed, but then, this is Little Vegas. There’s nothing too odd or alarming about my sister being out past 4 am.

553 am: I woke up to a commotion in the room next door. Laying quiet I listened, trying to categorize the sounds. It sounded like senior citizens getting rowdy—the muffled sounds that penetrated the walls sounded a lot like the noises on our chartered flight to Reno. The shrill amped-up laughter was that of nice older ladies gone bad, up till dawn working the slots and drinking G&Ts. I considered getting annoyed, but then, this is Little Vegas.

This is life asserting itself. It is my reserved and orderly sister sitting all night at poker tables, disregarding the carb count of the beer she holds, pretending there’s one chance in hell she’ll let that guy talk her into bed. It’s well-behaved retired people disposing of disposable income and not caring if they wake up the neighbors at 6 am.

It’s the rumpled, bearded, 30ish guy who struck up a conversation on 2nd street outside the Cal_Neva.

“Having any luck?” he asked me. I said Yeah, I was having very good luck, ‘cause I hadn’t yet gotten around to drinking or gambling.

He laughed, as good-natured tipsy people laugh at absurd statements, and told me he’d lost $1800.

“Whoa,” I said. He didn’t look like he had $1800 to lose. I commiserated on his loss, but he just stood next to me at the crosswalk, tilting his head up to see the big bright moon peeking through occasional clouds above.

“It could change any minute now,” he assured me.

I live with a communist, and tend to see money as “congealed human sweat and blood”. How does one get to the point of being able to risk such a sum on a turn of the card?

The light turned, and the little walking guy flashed. My companion looked at me and said, “See? I toldja.”


Advertisement



14th May 2009

life is like that
I completely understand his point of view, Life is epehemeral, it's this moment that is real, and it's aleways the same day. One of these days your sister may surprise herself. I could help her you know, I have healed many like that.... but there isn't a chance in hell since she's related to you, and thus to me. Have fun out there!

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007.2kb