Viva Las Vegas!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
March 12th 2012
Published: March 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Viva Las Vegas!

I heard that expression so many times - sang along with Elvis Presley for years - and then, finally, this past weekend I finally got to visit the city, myself. For the very first time!!! I thought I was the last person in the world to get there, LOL!

Well, let me just say this - Las Vegas exceeded my expectations. I realize that, when you first go there, the opportunities for things to do and places to see are incredible. That is exactly what it was like for me - however, the longer I stayed, the more I learned about the area. So much more to see and do.

For now, let me share some of the great adventures we had - I went with my good friend, Marg Petznick. This all started when I decided to plan some R & R and run to Vegas to see Celine Dion in concert. For years, I had 'talked about' doing this and then - poof!!! - she went away. I thought that was the end of the dream. And then - poof - she was back. Life lesson: quit talking about wanting to do something, and just do it! So, I set the date and bought the tickets and began 'counting the sleeps' till I got to see Celine in concert in person at Caesar's Palace!

And then......and then......came this disappointing e-mail. Celine Dion had cancelled all concerts for up to 8 weeks because of health/throat issues. Can't be! I could hardly believe it! Whhhhhyyyyyyyyyyy???????

Oh well, I know how to be resilient - just wasn't mean to be (this trip). On to Plan B - booking other shows to see and other adventures to experience.

So, Marg and I landed last Thursday evening - great flight - I LOVE WestJet (just sayin'😉.........and headed to bed pretty quick because it was already late. We wanted to be up and ready to go early the next morning.

Very happy I packed my walking shoes because, on Friday, I swear we covered 100 miles, or so!!!!! Seriously. Incredibly perfect sunny weather - mid 20's, which I love. We headed out with intentions of walking the strip - and got about 2 blocks, in total! So much to see. We went into the Venetian hotel (complete with gondolas and water canals!) - fabulous shops, restaurants, etc. and then on to the Wynn Hotel - the flowers, lights, restaurants, poolside lunch.......it just went on and on - breath-takingly beautiful locations. We shopped, we ate, we took tons of pictures, and enjoyed the uniqueness of each place. The photos say it all - right through to the pictures I took of the ceilings in the different places. I will say that the Wynn was a winner (no pun intended!) - we had a fabulous pool-side lunch there.

That night, it was time to go to the Donny & Marie show. Felt a little cheesy to be going there instead of seeing Celine Dion - but, hey, a girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do, LOL. Turns out that, first of all, I was so very impressed with the intimacy of the showroom - it was like you could just reach out and touch Donny & Marie - but the big WOW of the night was Marie! I had NO idea that she was so very talented. Her voice range was mesmerizing - her vocals were increidlbe - it was a show that far surprassed our expectations! I love Donny any time - and he, too, did not disappoint. Marg and I thoroughly enjoyed that show.

On Saturday, it was time for more adventures - and Marg taught me how to play the slot machines (my first exposure!) - I thought the machine that said one penny meant that......one penny.......NOT.......LOL. I can be very entertaining at times. But I was in good hands - Marg is patient and has a great sense of humor. So, we did a bit of gambling today as we toured around Caesar's Palace (just across the street from our own hotel). The place is HUGE! It actually took us 4 hours to get through it all!!! We had so much fun. Marg was the big winner (see photo of our cash slips below). We headed down the strip and spent time at the Paris Hotel - we went up in the Eiffel Tower and had a panoramic view of Las Vegas and really enjoyed watching the water show at the Bellagio - with a bird's eye view! Beautiful!!!! We had a delightful lunch in a little French cafe. By this time, I had to say that my feet and back were starting to cry out.......so we went back to our hotel for a rest break. Too funny, I know!

That night, we went to see Jersey Boys - what a great concert! Loved the music and the whole story of Frankie Valli - most entertaining. And then we called it a day.

Sunday - ahhhh, Sunday - I love Sundays. Today, it was time for something different - as well, we had to check out of the hotel by noon. So, we hit the slot machines to kill a bit of time - I played 5 $1 bills and WAS A WINNER!! - yes, IT'S TRUE!!! In total, I won $16.00 - so I cashed in - very happy with myself! Take my money and run, yes sirrrreeeeee!

Just after lunch we were picked up and taken to the Boulder City Municipal Airport, about 45 minutes out of Las Vegas. We were booked for a helicopter tour of the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon. WOW. WOW. WOW. WOW!!!!

Ben, our pilot (how come I always end up travelling with one Ben, or another, LOL?????) - was most hospitable and entertaining too. He used to train helicopter pilots in Florida but has been here for 6 years now 'doing his dream job', he says. I love being around people who are living their dreams.

Up, up and away - Marg and I got prime seating right in the front of the helicopter - the best! When Ben was not explaining all the details of where we were flying, he had the most appropriate music playing at in the background - it was all so magical as we flew up, over, around, and down through the Grand Canyon - absolutely magical!!!

Now, for the funny part, - I was enjoying this so very much I thought I should grab my flipcam right away and capture it for all of YOU, too! So, I hit the 'record' button, feeling very delighted to be able to share the view and the sounds........here's what is funny. We had headsets on so we could hear Ben's commentary and the music - I thought that when I hit record on the FlipCam that you, too, would benefit from all of that ........DUH! Sorry - not so! (I must have been having a 'senior' moment, LOL). Oh well - I did capture good video and will post if on my Facebook page if you want to check it out. That's the only way to truly benefit from the magic and splendor and magnificence of the Grand Canyon. There is NO way you could get the full sense of this natural wonder of the world by taking a walking tour, or ride a donkey or even a motor coach tour. Seriously! Seeing if from above, in the sunshine - wow! It's the only way to go - and I am sooooo thankful we made the decision to do that. One of the highlights of the trip for me, for certain.

Back on the road - down the highway - back to Las Vegas - grabbed our bags and off to the airport. Time to head home. Even the airport is full of slot machines - with limited regular seating - so people will spend their waiting time gambling. Too funny! I'm always entertained by people watching so that's what we did - till we got our 10 p.m. flight home. (Ben and Brenda - this reminded me of the flight from Alaska to Beijing -!!!!!! - flying in the wee hours of the night - I'm getting too old for this, LOL!) - great flight - we arrived back home in London at 5:00 a.m. - YUK!

And so, as I sit here and write this blog entry for you (many of you, after having followed my travel adventures from the recent World Tour, mentioned you have been going through withdrawals!!!! So, this blog is for you! - enjoy!) - my eyes are heavy and it won't be long before I'm sleeping peacefully in my own bed tonight.

So happy to be 'back' though and sharing more travel adventures!

By the way, Ben (the other Ben - from Travel Guild) now has the itinerary ready for both the Northern Hemisphere World Tour and the Southern Hemisphere World Tour. You can get more information from mary@travelguild.com The blog from the last World Tour was so well followed that, if you are interested in joining us this coming fall - get your information now and get your deposit in! We'd love to have you with us!!!!)

And that's all, folks. Good night for now - until we blog again.

Happy Pat

(P.S. I would be remiss if I did not acknowledge that this trip was a gift from my beloved Aunt Grace, who passed last year. She often told me in our regular phone calls that 'you work too hard - you need to play more!" - and so, thank you, Aunt Grace - this past weekend, I played hard! And may you RIP - I love you.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 118, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



13th March 2012

Withdrawal
You were right, I was having withdrawal - I can't wait to follow the World Tour 2012. You make everyone feel like they are right there enjoying it with you!! If you need any help with the Picture Keeper, just let me know! Thanks Pat!!
13th March 2012

fun!
Yes I was suffering from withdrawal! Sounds like you had a blast & I can't wait to see you in a couple of weeks!
14th March 2012

What a great trip! I love your blog, you do it so well.
Hi Pat It's always fun "traveling along" with you, it makes me want to get on a plane and head out to see the grand canyon, it's on my bucket list. Take care
14th March 2012

What happens in Vegas stays inn Vegas
It is so nice to read another of your blogs. I miss them. The pictures are great. Thanks
5th April 2012

I can relate!
Hi Pat...I've only been to Vegas once too (years ago with my ex - Chuck). We did the helicopter ride into the Grand Canyon - phenomenal!!! Funny you mention the headphones - the other couple in our copter was a man, and a blonde woman with huge boobs. Chuck kept calling her Dolly, not realizing that everyone else could hear what the others were saying!

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb