Crossing the Mississippi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Grand Island
September 6th 2011
Published: September 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Coralville LakeCoralville LakeCoralville Lake

morning mist
How can you get up at 6:30 am and not get on the road til 9:15? I am an expert at getting distracted.
The morning on the lake was just beautiful. The temperature was 47 degrees outside so there was mist coming off the lake. I had to get dressed warmly to go outside and enjoy my coffee, my UMBC hoodie kept me nice and warm. The crows were talking, the herons were flying in for their favorite fishing spot, and the king fishers were in a fallen tree watching for their breakfast to appear. I took a few pictures, got out the binoculars and watched as the sun rose and the drama unfolded. So many fish jumped it surely must have been their breakfast time. Before I knew it it was after 8 and I hadn’t walked the dog or cleaned up the camper. I’m supposed to be on vacation.
We left at 9:15 and drove to RT 80 and headed WEST ! The terrain was a little more hilly but with corn and soybeans in most of the fields. There were occasional black angus cattle but mostly farms. There were wind mills scattered around and sometimes a whole farm
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

fisherman setting out
of them. They were absolutely huge, I guess to withstand the force of the wind in that open land. The traffic wasn’t bad, lots of trucks and campers. The speed limit was 70 then 75 and it took me a while to go 70 but I never did drive 75. The camper is too high and occasionally gets blown by a gust of wind especially passing trucks so 75 was too fast for me. Besides I only got 13 ½ mpg going that speed.
I stopped to use the internet at a road side rest in Iowa and was able to post yesterday’s blog and send a few e mails. It’s really nice that they provide that service for us tourists.
I crossed the Missouri River today as I entered Nebraska. No more internet. The hills started to get farther apart and now are almost gone. It’s flat again and looks like MT big sky country. Corn everywhere…
I found a really nice campground for the night in Grand Island, NE called Morman Island State Recreation Area. It is beautifully laid out with a swimming beach, campground, ball fields and hiking trails. So for $18.00 a night I get electric too. Oscar and I hiked for 45 min and after dinner I discovered that I am very tired again. So it is early to bed tonight and hopefully I can get up and moving tomorrow.
I traveled 387 miles and didn’t get to the campground til 5pm. A very long day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb