...and I'm not even Danish!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska » Davey
October 18th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Danish Cemetery


I woke a little late yesterday morning so I didn't leave Minneapolis untill around 10:30. With a few random stops, that put me in western Iowa about 5pm. Most of the trip was cloudy and misty but as I pulled into Omaha, the sun came out giving me enough light for some pictures at the Danish Cemetery in Davey, Nebraska. I ran around the cemetery, racing the sun, snapping as many pictures as I could of family members. Leaving the cemetery, satisfied that I had at least a few leads on my geneology, I drove to Lincoln to a coffee shop in the Haymarket called 'The Mill' to get some coffee and use their wi-fi. After only a few minutes with my photos and my geneology program I was making some pretty good headway. The plan for today was to go to a small town to the west called Silver Creek but more research is needed to locate the correct graves. That and the temerature dropped about 15 degrees and its really windy and a bit rainy out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



19th October 2006

road trip fun
Sounds like an interesting day! Was cold and dreary here too. Enjoy your day in Silver Creek.
20th October 2006

Cenetery stone
Now those are all names you can trust ;) Hey man. I like this travelblog deal. Cool to keep up with what you're up to.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb