Day 114 - West Glacier National Park - time to explore


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » West Glacier
August 22nd 2013
Published: August 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

We were out of the rig at 8:30 this morning heading to Glacier National Park. Our destination was the top of Logan Pass. We boarded the park bus for an hour and half ride up to the base of Logan Pass. The ride up was very beautiful and interesting. There were points on the drive where we could see straight down the side of the cliff. Man we were high up! We were told the hike up to the top (Hidden Lake viewpoint) was well worth the mile and a half climb. The climb was a 460 foot increase in elevation, so we would definitely feel it. Yesterday I made probably the best purchase of this trip, a pair of hiking poles. They were definitely what I needed to make it to the top. We did make our goal destination and had a picnic lunch at the top. Along the way up and down we saw several mountain goats (including a baby), a marmot, chipmunks and squirrels. The scenery was simply stunning and it was worth the hike up. I again want to thank my physical therapy team (Sara, Lauren and Linda) for helping me prepare for such an adventure as this. Despite two artificial joints and Rheumatoid arthritis, this trip has helped me to see I can still accomplish many things. I might not be able to hike as high or as long as before, but I can still get out there and see beautiful things.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb