My Summer as a Parkie Part 2


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sara and SueSara and SueSara and Sue

on Avalanche Lake Trail. Glacier National Park, MT

The Hikers



My boss, Ann, introduced me to a local women's hiking group. They hike every Thursday. Sometimes the hikes are in the park, sometimes not, but they are always long and usually pretty hard. To date, I am the youngest in the group. The baby. It's nice. Usually, I am the old lady of the group. It is, however, very humbling to hike with these women. If I am the oldest, I can use that as an excuse when I fall behind. Not so here, and I do fall behind. They are fit. Very fit. The oldest in the group is 77 and she can go faster than me, if she puts her mind to it. They are a very diverse group. Many are retired, some are housewives, and the ones that do work, have jobs from hollywood animal trainer, writers, artists, to even a puppetier in the group.

I have also been going on some hikes with my boss, Ann, my coworker, Sue and my friend's cousin, Ed, who stopped by to visit and ended up staying a week and a half. We managed to get in at least six hikes in that week and a
Ed and MeEd and MeEd and Me

Grinell Glacier Trail. Glacier NP, MT
half. Man, was I sore. I've also met a few other people to hike with on my hiking partners group, on coolworks.com. My goal is to blog each different hike and log the distances and other stats, plus post pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Thursday Hiking GroupThursday Hiking Group
Thursday Hiking Group

Old Ranger Station Trail. Glacier NP, MT
Thursday Hiking GroupThursday Hiking Group
Thursday Hiking Group

Boundry Trail. Glacier NP, MT
Sue and EdSue and Ed
Sue and Ed

Northern Lights Cafe/Saloon. Polebridge, MT
AnnAnn
Ann

Lake McDonald Trail. Glacier NP, MT
Thursday Hiking GroupThursday Hiking Group
Thursday Hiking Group

Cyclone Peak Trail. Flathead, MT
Me and VeronicaMe and Veronica
Me and Veronica

On Iceberg Lake Trail. Veronica is in the Thursday hiking group.
Running Eagle FallsRunning Eagle Falls
Running Eagle Falls

Two Medicine, Glacier National Park, Montana. Me, Macy, Lehua and Darrel
Donna, Steve and BertramDonna, Steve and Bertram
Donna, Steve and Bertram

English couchsurfers (couchsurfing.com) on the Highline Trail, Glacier National Park, Montana
Glacier National Park, MontanaGlacier National Park, Montana
Glacier National Park, Montana

Logan Pass, after hiking to Haystack Butte on the Highline Trail. Steve, Donna, Macy, Darrel and Lehua
Highline Trail, Glacier National Park, MontanaHighline Trail, Glacier National Park, Montana
Highline Trail, Glacier National Park, Montana

Alex, Dave and Suzanne (my old Army buddy) on the trail.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb