Blog-abration #7: Sweet Cassie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Butte
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Jason Mraz- Lucky; Live in Seoul 82 secs
The first 24 hours in Korea, no, the first week in Korea, were some of the most difficult in my life. You are exhausted and jet lagged; you are expected to work the very next school day, whether that is after a weekend or within hours (as we were so lucky), you haven’t eaten anything in roughly a week because either you can’t find anything tolerable, or you can’t stomach any of the available eats. Besides not sleeping well, unpacking what life you’ve managed to stuff into your luggage, and trying to figure out a new job that comes with little to no direction or people that can help, and you can see the slight challenge here. However, throughout everything, the one rock that was always there was Cassie, and I hope she feels the inverse.

Since this entire blog has been about what we’ve been up to, where we’ve gone, and all but one post written by me and my perspective on things, I want to take an opportunity to blog-abrate one of the sole reasons this has been the best year of my life.

I began writing a memoir once I decided to leave my teaching job, in, about June of 2008. I wanted it to be more of an informational read, starting with my background, how I came to the decision of going to Korea, and what happened there. The book stalled after about 60 pages (a victory for me), like many of the projects I started. I may finish it, I want to finish it, it’s just one of those things that will happen when it happens- I have a difficult time forcing the creative process. That’s beside the point, though. I want to pull a section of that book that is fitting for this blog entry. It’s about how we first met, and is a bit long, so bear with this little walk down memory lane…

Cassie and I have been together for nearly two years as of right now. We met at Georgetown Lake, an up and coming tourist destination and four season recreation spot outside of Philipsburg, while I was cabin sitting in the one room, waterless, shack. Remember? Her grandmother has had a cabin near there for eons, bought it from the original homesteaders, and have remained there through all the influx of money that has been and continues to infiltrate the area.

The official story of our meeting goes something like this. I knew from the people I was sitting for, that a cute girl was moving back and that I should keep an eye out for her. One phenomenon that occurs, and I’m sure it is like this in other scarcely populated areas of the world, is that it is worth taking notice when someone, just anyone, in the same age bracket, moves into the same zip code. It is doubley worth taking notice, like… the talk of the neighborhood, when that someone is in that same age bracket and of the other sex. Oh yeah, there was some scheming going on to make sure our two paths crossed.

So this ‘particular’ weekend, when she was going to be heading up to the lake without my knowledge, was a beautiful weekend. I awoke to the sun reflecting off the Georgetown waters sending iridescent images onto the log cabin’s exterior. My one luxury, brewed coffee, I enjoyed while reading my book on the front steps. I remember the book quite well, because I have since read it again, The Measure of a Mountain, a story of the author’s relationship and discovering of Mt. Rainier. I recall reading majestic descriptions of the dormant volcanic cinder cone and looking up, to see the sawtooth peaks of the Anaconda- Pintler mountain range set against the navy waters of Georgetown Lake. Across the lake, the evergreen ponderosa pines tower there way through the cloudless indigo sky. Sipping on my one remaining vise, with visions of Rainier standing sentinel over the Seattle skyline and the smell of dew on the pine needles, I knew couldn’t have asked for a better place to exist, right here and right now. Never often enough there are times when one can take a second, look around, and realize the splendor of where they are. I most frequently find myself doing that in the mountains, and this morning was one of those times.

I popped back to my present situation by what seemed to be a rusted out Ford pickup bouncing down the dirt road thirty yards from the cabin. More and more people must have been wanting to come to the lake to enjoy the day since the frequency of those old pickup trucks was quickly increasing. I decided to go and enjoy the views from the cockpit of my kayak. I jumped in my car, tossed my boat in the water, and went to see if my friend, whose cabin was across the bay, was up for the day. I paddled over, and found he wasn’t yet, so kept on going to see how the progress was coming on a recent demolition of a beautiful, iconic, waterfront lodge was going. Just another story of someone coming in, buying property and developing it for a gazillion dollar profit.

The old Georgetown Lake Lodge at Denton’s Point, a historic log building overlooking the lake, housed a restaurant, bar, reception hall, campground, and marina, was planned for demolition to make room for condominiums, baring county approval. It was a fun place that had recently been the home base for the kiteboarding sport, a newer recreation whose popularity was growing quickly. In fact, a friend and I took our guitars there and played a some shows to a few patrons from time to time, the last ending prematurely because of a power outage. I don’t know what the red tape had in store for the new owner, but last I heard was not condos, but twenty five town houses instead. Regardless, it is a great loss to the ambiance of the lake community.

I paddled on by, seeing a lot of chain link fencing and a roof that was no longer. I was feeling good, relaxed, so I decided to plan out the remainder of the paddle. I was going to follow the bank passed the dam, take in the ‘Budweiser’ house, most impressive, by the way, but can’t give you any more information than the hearsay about the owner somehow is in the beer business. Then, I’d cut across the next bay to see how the construction was progressing on the new governor’s house, one not with the grandeur of the ‘Budweiser House,’ but whose location and views from the hillside of a peninsula jutting out into the lake would invoke jealousy in anyone. Then head back to the car, concluding my journey.

I did just as I had planned, soaking in the sights accompanied by the melodic relaxation of Jack Johnson on my Ipod. I was on my way back to the car, several stress free hours after I anticipated being back, and thought I’d head back over to see if Ray had got to his cabin yet. I changed my course fourty-five degrees to my left and started over. From there I could see my car parked by the boat launch and community docks that the area residents all use to enjoy the water. I could see my friend Liz, whose extra cabin I was residing in, and her two kids waking along the bank and splashing in the water. There were fishermen preparing their boats and a lot of other activity going on, when something caught my eye.

Standing out on the end of the dock, was a bikini top. Those of you who have a little knowledge as to the rural Montana way of life, seeing a bikini is not as common as you think… or hope. Trying to make out who it is, it all clicked in my mind and I knew it was her, Cassie. Sorry Ray, I’m going to have to catch up with you later, my plans have just changed, I’m heading to the dock.

I pull up to the dock and say hi to Liz. She immediately tells me I need to come over to her side of the dock to meet Cassie. New moms have this great skill of doing about ten different things at one time, such as, keeping an eye on this child, while disciplining this child, while eating a snack, while talking about work to a friend, while cleaning up a diaper, while fixing the kids’ lunch, while chasing down a piece of trash caught in the wind, while watching the other child walking into the water, while catching up on a suntan, while being a matchmaker, while…while…while… Liz was no exception; she is a wonderful mom with two beautiful young daughters, which are always on the go, getting into everything, certainly a mischievous trait Liz will tell you they get from dad, but I think she is in denial. Playing what looked like a Detroit Pistons zone defense, Liz, with one child under one arm, and one eye on the other, introduced Me to Cass in the beautiful sunshine of midday. I was instantly smitten with her auburn skin, wonderfully long, dark curls, and striking eyes, and, yes, brown bikini top. No lie… smitten instantly.

Really, no lie; and I believe it so much that we have a disputed ‘anniversary,’ I celebrate on the 1st, Cass, in her skepticism, celebrates on the 10th. We celebrate 2, that’s a win in anyone’s book.

I could go on a long rant about how Cass is a perfect compliment, a magnetic soul that can't help but inject good and happiness in any room she walks into. I could talk about how genuinly loving she is and true to so many things she holds dear to her heart. Then I could probably mention things that I respect about her, like her small town background and values paired with an adventurous spirit to see the world and live an extraordinary life. I would mention things like how effortlessly cool she can be, fun loving, and gracious. Then I would share so much about her that makes me laugh, like her petulance for singing out of tune in public and the fact that she so often is a 'bull in a china shop,' and game for (nearly) all of my silly ideas. Hilarious... but... I'll spare you all of that.

Fast forward.

We decide to move to Korea, live together, and see what happens from there.

Fast forward, again.

We finish our second day of trekking in Sapa, Vietnam (you can read about that, here, at Sapa - rific! ). We killed a few hours before our dinner in the street markets, wandering between countless shops of incredible handmade fabrics and trinkets.

Tired, but amazed at the location and opportunity of experiencing Sapa, we sat at a table next to a window. The view from the head of the valley was absolutely brilliant; the sun was setting and dusk was settling over the rice terraces and lush mountains surrounding us. The dim lights of the restaurant and the candle light reflecting off the bright colored décor around us was peaceful.

I told Cass how blessed I feel to be having a year like we were having, and to have experienced it all with my best friend, the one I love like absolute craziness. That no matter where we are, or no matter what we go through, for the rest of our lives, how trying they may seem, or amazing they are, everything just seems better when we’re together. And I know beyond a shadow of any kind of doubt that…

I reached into my pocket. I grabbed the ring box that has now become a little bent from the weeklong travels in the depths of my backpack. I held it in my hand and opened it up.

… that I want to spend the rest of my life with you.

We cried some, we laughed some, we talked some. She agreed with every word I said, and felt the same way. I blindsided her with this, so much, the only thing she could mutter was, “What are you doing, what are you doing?”

By the time we finished slurping up our noodles, we decided, because we were so far away from our family and friends that we’d wait to tell people. It would give a great chance at seeing each other and our relationship, no longer as boyfriend/girlfriend, but as more.

This year we’ve shared with you hasn’t just been about the travels we’ve had through Korea and Asia. It’s been a journey. With all journeys, with all travels, you’ll experience times you never thought imaginable and you’ll experience low times you wouldn’t wish on your enemies. This year has had both, as expected, but through the good, the bad, the ugly, Cassie is the one that can make my mouth laugh, my head shake, my booty dance, my heart explode with feelings. She, alone, has been one of those things that I never thought imaginable. She is my love, my support, my suggy… and as we shook our booties at the Jason Mraz concert in Seoul, he sang one of his songs that couldn’t be more true for us…

“I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend. I’m lucky to have been where I have been. Lucky to be coming home again.
I'm lucky we're in love every way. Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed. Lucky to be coming home someday”

So, no riding off into the sunset just yet. Remember, this is a travel blog, about our journey… and this particular journey is just beginning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



5th November 2009

AWESOME!
You guys are ridiculous! Can't even begin to say how happy I am for you guys. Pumped for my first trip to Montana!
5th November 2009

Jon, you are one lucky badger!!!!!!! I think those of us who know you two feel blessed to have you in our lives and we look forward to whatever comes next. Well done you two!!!! Love Sarah
6th November 2009

We must agree that you guys are perfect together. So happy for you both and for us also. The Weightmans
7th November 2009

Love Story
Jon, Once again your words describe to the reader an event that makes them feel and see things through your eyes. How then can one not feel and believe in your love for Cassie. The pictures just document a mutual and shared love, respect, joy and happiness for the two of you. Thanks for sharing. I honestly cannot say I love all the pictures of the two of you. They say a world of love.
7th November 2009

Thanks Everyone!
It is so awesome to know and see the love and support of all our family and friends. We can't begin to show our appreciation. Thank you Thank you Thank you! It's so comforting to know that we have such great people around us!

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb