08 Group Vacation Day 11 - Snake Alley, Worldest Largest Pecan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri
September 1st 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

MV 11 LAST DAY


This set of blogs is another Group Vacation. Our 2008 trip was from KC up and around Lake Superior into Canada and then a slight detour to Milwaukee for a few days for the 25th and 105th celebrations for HOG and Harley Davidson. The blogs are broken into sections, each being a day in the trip. The first blog of this trip is here 08 Group Vacation Day 1 - to Iowa

Day 11 Monday

The day starts early and as I am waiting for them to finish up I realize that I really don’t need to wait to pull out with them, after all at the end of the parking lot we are going to part company, so I say my goodbyes and agree I will call them when I get home. I left at 7:30am.

Washington was a nice find, I got a presidential race picture for the city, then found a statue of Washington in the city park and of course the city is in Washington county. I was then off toward Snake Alley. Snake Alley is the worlds crookedest road. It is only one block long. The town was recovering being flooded, the tourist info center was in temporary housing as its real site down by the river was being repaired. I stopped at the info center and got some info and took the time to set my camera up on the handlebars so I could record the trip down the hill. After going down the thing 3 times I had my fill and was ready to head on home. The alley was brick. It was strange that the bricks used in the alley were laid on their sides at an angle. I guess this is for traction.

A few Presidential Race sites along the way home, not having to worry about detaining the others I had added some to my route home.

Ft Madison was interesting it held an old fort and a Lewis and Clark historic site. What ended up being a campsite of theirs. They must have wondered all over MO and about every town seems to have campsite of theirs.

I saw a sign for a covered bridge so I detoured off for that. The bridge had also been caught up in the recent flooding and had suffered damage. It was closed to anyone walking on it as the sides and flooring had been
Lewis and Clark CampsiteLewis and Clark CampsiteLewis and Clark Campsite

Nice to see they use fire rings.
severely damaged.

One of the other stops of the day was the worlds largest pecan. What a hoot.

I called Mel after I got home and had unloaded the bike. She started laughing, they had gotten home about a half hour earlier.

It was 3049.9 miles for the trip. There is no place like home, I will be glad to live here again.

Here are links to all the blogs for this trip:

1. 08 Group Vacation Day 1 - to Iowa
2. 08 Group Vacation Day 2 - John Wayne, Albert the Bull and Freedom Rock
3. 08 Group Vacation Day 3 - Buddy Holly, SPAM and the Joint
4. 08 Group Vacation Day 4 - Aerostitch and Canada
5. 08 Group Vacation Day 5 - Canada and Mackinac Bridge
6. 08 Group Vacation Day 6 - Yoppers, Pasties and outa gas John
7. 08 Group Vacation Day 7 - HOG 25th are you kidding me??
8. 08 Group Vacation Day 8 - Vinnie and Cody from American Chopper
9. 08 Group Vacation Day 9 - Last day of the 105th Anniversary Party
10. 08 Group Vacation Day 10 - Heading Home
11. 08 Group Vacation Day 11 - Snake Alley, Worldest Largest Pecan




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Union Covered BridgeUnion Covered Bridge
Union Covered Bridge

Damaged by flood waters in July of 2008


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb