Lovely Day of Hiking


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Before we began to pack up our home in St. Louis. I had one place I needed to cross off my list of "Must do before I move" list. So, my friend Helena and I drove south (from STL) to Johnson's Shut-In state park. It was a perfect day, or as perfect as a day can be for me. I was with a friend, the sun was shining, and I was walking in a beautiful place. Plus, Helena bought lunch, which again for me was a HUGE perk. I love Helena as a friend, but the fact that she bring the most tasty snacks on a hike is a tremendous perk!

A little info on the Shut-ins, compliments of Wikipedia - "Johnson's Shut-In state park is a Missouri state park on the Black River in Reynolds County. The term "shut in" refers place where the river's breadth is limited by hard rock resistant to erosion. In these shut-ins the river cascades in many rivulets over and around igneous rocks worn smooth over many eons. It's used by park visitors as a natural water park when the water is not so high as to be dangerous. One and a half billion years ago, hot volcanic ash and gases spewed into the air, then cooled, forming igneous rock. Later, shallow seas covered the rock, depositing sedimentary rock. The area was uplifted and erosion exposed the volcanic rock. Waters of the East Fork Black River became confined, or "shut-in," to a narrow channel. Water-borne sand and gravel cut deeply even into this erosion-resistant rock, carving potholes, chutes and canyon-like gorges."

Enjoy the photos - Pamela


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb