anticipating cheese and olives


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
May 11th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It always amazes me how much preparation goes into a multi-city, multi-country trip. Come June, I am taking my six-year-old daughter, Emma, to Europe for her first real vacation. We will spend many days in Paris, with a day trip into Belgium for chocolate (her) and beer (me), before heading to Greece, specifically Athens, Crete, and Santorini, then lastly heading north to Thessaloniki to conclude the trip with my dear friend, Natasha.

Preparing a three-week excursion with a six-year-old has its kinks. For instance, what am I going to feed my picky little eater besides nutella and banana crepes? How do I fuse the interests of a thirty-year-old and a six-year-old so we both feel like we had the ultimate vacation? How much wine can I drink in my little companion's company? Is it bad that I lied to her about Paris not having a Disney World?

More importantly are the preparations that will, hopefully, limit the unknown. Without Emma, I would welcome the idea of not needing a timetable to follow. I would actually prefer it. Knowing, however, that I will better adapt to the time difference and tiredness that comes from traveling, I have mapped out every detail in efforts to avoid confusion, travel time, and unwarranted stress. I have typed, in a trusty word document, airport transfer information, hotel addresses, and routes to various locations. Obnoxious, I know.

I also anticipate dinner to be an interesting feat. Emma's bedtime is 8:00 pm, sharp. Standard dining hour in Paris (and in Greece) is oh, around 9:00 pm. Last time in Paris, I remember Nicole and I trying to eat dinner- GASP - around 7:00. The waiter handed us the bill with our drinks. He nearly fell over when we asked for a menu. Scowling, he wadded up our ticket, as we ordered a cheese plate. A new bill was presented with the delivery of the cheese plate and a 'you stupid Americans' look. We get it, we get it. We paid and left, eating a later dinner down the street.

As the trip nears, so does Emma's to do list. Recently, she has requested: 1. to go to Greece first so she can see Natasha, 2. to go up to the top of the Eiffel Tower (the lower level is not good enough), 3. to go to the catacombs of Paris, 4. to go to the Louve so she can go under the pyramid, 5. she wants the chocolate, strawberry, banana waffle from Belgium she saw in a picture, and 6. she wants to eat olives in Greece.

I have to give it to her; the girl is well-versed and has exceptional taste. If only she drank coffee and ate cheese.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb