St. Louis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
December 1st 2007
Published: December 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

I'm going to try to keep this up. At least until I get off the road this Spring.

As you can tell I made it home just fine. My plane landed on the 6th and I was back to work on the 12th. It's been full on ever since. I spent one week in Nashville but now in the midst of 10 weeks on the road, which will be followed by another 7 weeks on the road. I'll post when I can, mostly just to keep my sanity I'm not really concerned if people are reading it or not. I don't get much opportunity for pictures but if I did they would be the inside of hotel rooms which basically all look the same anyway.

I had a great Thanksgiving. I tried to tell people in Australia about Thanksgiving and how I was looking forward to it more than Christmas, but I’m not sure they really got it. In my opinion there’s not much better than laying around the house playing Guitar Hero and eating a giant plate of left over turkey dinner whenever you want.

As you guessed, I'm a bit tired and will be happy to spend at least one night in my own bed this week. I haven’t been sleeping well at all this week.

I did enjoy St. Louis, I honestly love that city, and not sure why, but I look forward to going every chance I get. I was able to meet up with an old friend (we met two years ago, see myspace for the original story) for a night of Trivia at a local bar. I had a great time but I was not much help. I realized I need to review my world map more, and sport stadiums and the teams that play there. I did get to talk to a guy from Cambra, Australia who now lives in St. Louis, it was fun to talk politics and I realized I kinda miss the Accent.

I'm currently somewhere in Maryland. Not really sure where but it's about 40 miles northwest of Baltimore. I caught the last part of a new show called "Next Great American Band" It's American Idol with Bands judged by that guy from the Goo Goo Dolls, some chick and the guy that judged Australian Idol. I personally think all the bands are terrible except for the 3 from Nashville (especially one called the Clark Brothers they rock bluegrass style) who are all in the final 6 which once again proves Nashville is the greatest city in the world. Right now I’m watching Sweet Home Alabama on USA and starting to understand where the reputation of the South has come from.

I missed the farewell Nickel Creek show at the Ryman which I'm bummed since they are in my top 3 all time favorite bands in the world. But I did get to see their show last year and it felt like the last time I would see them so I guess it makes since I missed this one. I hope they get back together, but also anxious to see what they will be able to achieve with a greater since of freedom on their own. We knew it would happen, just too much talent for one band.

Alright so I'll be in Memphis and Chattanooga next week I'll see you there.


Advertisement



1st December 2007

farewell Nickel Creek???
what do you mean by "farewell Nickel Creek"? are they breaking up? -clueless

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb