Musings


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Liberty
January 27th 2010
Published: January 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been back in the US for about 10 days now. I realize that I still need to post info and pictures from my vacation to Ireland and Wales. I will get around to it soon, I hope. However, I thought I would include some musings about my return. It has been interesting to see the culture shocks. I knew I would have some, but these have been somewhat unexpected in nature.

1. The size of things: the night before I flew home, I got out my US work mobile to charge. It is a LOT bigger than the UK one. Then, when I was in the Atlanta airport, I bought a bottle of water. I looked at the bottle and decided that it was HUGE. I looked more closely and discovered that it was only 20 oz.

2. Being back among my dept has been great. I didn’t realize how much I had missed this office until I got back. It has been fun seeing people and catching up.

3. I miss my brother and his family. It was so much fun getting to know my nephews. And they are expecting #3 in a couple of weeks. 😱

4. I also miss my sister , even though we chat most days with IM. I can’t believe we aren’t planning a weekend trip, trying to find a gluten-free B&B.

5. Even after being home for over 10 days, I am still jet-lagged. Of course, this might also be due to the fact that I haven’t slept late once. In fact, I am trying to get to the office early each day as I have a conference call with one of my European customers at 8:00 AM.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb