Po-Boys in Long Beach


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Cajun Crawfish HutThe Cajun Crawfish HutThe Cajun Crawfish Hut

The Cajun Crawfish Hut on the Beach in Long Beach, MS
We ate a couple of meals at The Cajun Crawfish Hut. This is a small place with indoor and outdoor seating. The food is good. They have a variety of Po-Boys (really good sandwiches served on loaves of French bread) and they specialize in seafood Po-Boys - catfish, oysters, shrimp, and alligator. They also serve good ham and roast beef Po-Boys.

These guys serve can’t-close-‘em Po-Boys. This means that you can’t close the French bread around the meat and dressings. I’ve never seen this kind of Po-Boy before. It was a new and enjoyable eating experience.

In addition to Po-Boys, they serve dinners of fried seafood as well as boiled shrimp and crawfish. Gumbo is another one of their specialties. We didn’t have any of the gumbo, but I noticed several people ordering it and enjoying it.

The atmosphere is beach casual. They do require shirts and footwear. I fed a family of five (sons ages 16, 18, and 20) for $40. This is a good place to stop in Long Beach, Mississippi.


Advertisement



22nd May 2007

Memories
When I saw this picture it reminded me of when I first met my wife. She lived in Long Beach and I lived in Indiana. Just a day or so after I met her she took me here, one of her favorite places to eat. I remember sitting at the tables in front looking out at the harbor, the wind blowing napkins off the table, me trying to impress her while shrimp fell down the front of my shirt. Those Po-Boys were huge. That was 2002, we got married in August 2005 just days before Katrina. It was so sad when we came back to the coast and saw the destruction. Then we drove down 90 and saw the blue foundation, that was all that was left. Hopefully they will rebuild along with the rest of her hometown. I'm just glad I got to experience the coast the way it was. I'm afraid that it will be many, many years if not decades before it even gets close to the way it was.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb